Interactive pause

Ideas, that are too old (too much things changed) or won't be implemented cause of some reasons or if there are obvious better suggestions.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
ShyLion
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 7:43 am
Contact:

Interactive pause

Post by ShyLion »

Not sure if it is actually planned by devs, already. Idea seems obviuos, but i've searched and could not find any.

So, what i want is to allow interaction with everything, just like normal except that time is stopped and you and anything else cannot move, but able to queue production, place stuff on ground, interact with containers, give orders, etc.

I know, time management is a challange itself, but i'd prefer to have time to think, before act. Maybe allow it as some kind of difficulty option on start.

User avatar
bormand
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: Interactive pause

Post by bormand »

ShyLion wrote:
Fri Jan 22, 2021 8:01 am
So, what i want is to allow interaction with everything, just like normal except that time is stopped and you and anything else cannot move, but able to queue production, place stuff on ground, interact with containers, give orders, etc.
Turret Creep 2.0: quickly place some turrets, engage active pause and fill them with ammo.

Honestly, why do you need active pause? If you feel too much pressure from biters, just lower their settings or set them to peaceful. And if you play without them, you have all the time in the world to think before acting.

P.S. If you need pause for design/debug purposes, there is an in-game editor. It can change game speed, active pause, single-step and more. There are some mods for that also.

ShyLion
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: Interactive pause

Post by ShyLion »

bormand wrote:
Fri Jan 22, 2021 9:25 am
Honestly, why do you need active pause?
Maybe i got used to it in other building games.

User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Interactive pause

Post by boskid »

No.

Time is important to be running to keep all the machinery running. And the time pausing would not work at all in multiplayer or would be really irritating.

Post Reply

Return to “Outdated/Not implemented”