Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Ideas, that are too old (too much things changed) or won't be implemented cause of some reasons or if there are obvious better suggestions.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

User avatar
5thHorseman
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by 5thHorseman »

Icchan wrote:
Thu Oct 01, 2020 4:49 am
Now that one can align blueprints to the chunk grid with absolute reference and build them from the map, this change is more than needed.
How so? 32x32 is only one of all the possible blueprint grid alignment sizes. Any size other than that (and factors like 16) will not align to chunks. Sure you CAN do it, but it's not in any way inherent in the process. If anything, the blueprint alignments help you ignore chunks even more by setting up your own grid to your own liking.
Image Image

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12273
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by ssilk »

Icchan wrote:
Thu Oct 01, 2020 4:49 am
Now that one can align blueprints to the chunk grid with absolute reference and build them from the map, this change is more than needed.
I don’t understand that preference. 32 is just a number which comes from binary system, which comes from internal organization of the game engine. There is nothing against having a “chunk size” of 42 in your world. And so it makes much more sense - from my point of view - to have a wire reach of 42.

Why not?? 8-)

Use mods, if that is somehow important for you. :)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Xorimuth
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by Xorimuth »

ssilk wrote:
Fri Oct 02, 2020 4:29 am
Icchan wrote:
Thu Oct 01, 2020 4:49 am
Now that one can align blueprints to the chunk grid with absolute reference and build them from the map, this change is more than needed.
I don’t understand that preference. 32 is just a number which comes from binary system, which comes from internal organization of the game engine. There is nothing against having a “chunk size” of 42 in your world. And so it makes much more sense - from my point of view - to have a wire reach of 42.

Why not?? 8-)

Use mods, if that is somehow important for you. :)
There is a slight advantage to using chunk size 32 in your world when creating snap-to-chunk blueprints: if you make 30x30 blueprints then the first layout that you create will not actually be aligned correctly, so you will have to blueprint it, deconstruct it and then place the blueprint so that it is actually aligned to 30*n tiles from spawn. When using 32, you can just build inside the world grid chunks and that is where the created blueprint will be snapped to.

Hopefully that made sense :)

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5201
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by eradicator »

Xorimuth wrote:
Fri Oct 02, 2020 12:44 pm
There is a slight advantage to using chunk size 32 in your world when creating snap-to-chunk blueprints: if you make 30x30 blueprints then the first layout that you create will not actually be aligned correctly,
That just means that you need to install a mod that shows a custom grid instead of using developer features to play the game.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

Zaflis
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 12:51 am
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by Zaflis »

To me it's very simple, i define world by rail network that is always built from blueprint blocks spaced by big powerpoles. Chunk alignment means that every 7th powerpole i can put down a radar without having to make a mess and draw powerline to a random radar that could end up being inside an actual build...
chunkalign.png
chunkalign.png (2.44 MiB) Viewed 410 times
Now look at the 2 at the top; original and proposed. They are almost the same visually, adding that extra 2 tiles is really too much fuss?

Also i do note that the above 32 wide actually connected in the screenshot, that's because of Krastorio 2 playthrough which ups range to 32.25 (why is it decimal?). There are few other mods that add long poles too such as all Bob's mods even if it's played with Angel's. So people definitely see and use them. Not making the feature because they cause issues would be saying those modpacks have issues. Modders will naturally come back to you at forums and request to fix them :P

I'm not sure where you get that it's computationally expensive to go through every powerpole within reach of the just built powerpole. It's not like you go through the whole map. It's not even a per tick operation but thing that happens just once when constructed so even less relevant.

Also why the bottom designs of rails are bad is because:
1) They need more powerpoles and is thus more expensive.
2) You can't manually place the powerpoles without blueprinting always, because you're not doing max wire reach.

Xorimuth
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by Xorimuth »

eradicator wrote:
Fri Oct 02, 2020 12:50 pm
Xorimuth wrote:
Fri Oct 02, 2020 12:44 pm
There is a slight advantage to using chunk size 32 in your world when creating snap-to-chunk blueprints: if you make 30x30 blueprints then the first layout that you create will not actually be aligned correctly,
That just means that you need to install a mod that shows a custom grid instead of using developer features to play the game.
True, and I'm not saying that it is a huge issue, but if I'm installing mods, then I might as well install the 32-reach one? We're discussing vanilla.

User avatar
NotRexButCaesar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by NotRexButCaesar »

ssilk wrote:
Fri Oct 02, 2020 4:29 am
I don’t understand that preference. 32 is just a number which comes from binary system, which comes from internal organization of the game engine. There is nothing against having a “chunk size” of 42 in your world. And so it makes much more sense - from my point of view - to have a wire reach of 42.
The reason 32 is useful as a grid is because it can be standard in all blueprints/multiplayer games. If everyone uses the same grid, collaboration will become much easier and more effective. It is like asking “10 is just a number from the decimal system. why have all scientists use metric? In their projects, they can use any unit system the like.”
: Alea jacta est. Determine what you intend to accomplish with an action before execution.
Have you ever heard the gospel? Most have not.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6550
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by Koub »

I'm not convinced "everyone has the same grid" would be beneficial to multi.Moreover, once one starts to align ... things that can be, there are always more :
Wire reach from long poles to 32, then substations should be 16x16, then roboports should have 64x64, Radar tiling should also tile in multiples of 2, and so on. There are always more things that would fit well if they aligned. And at the end, one will have a single universal spacing pattern with no reason for creativity because it would be so optimal there would be no reason not to use it.

Also :
AmericanPatriot wrote:
Sun Oct 11, 2020 8:39 pm
It is like asking “10 is just a number from the decimal system. why have all scientists use metric? In their projects, they can use any unit system the like.”
Real life does not need to be fun or something. Efficiency is the key, and there aren't many things more efficient than adding a 0 to scale one order of magnitude up.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
NotRexButCaesar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by NotRexButCaesar »

It isn’t that everything should be grid-aligned, more that power poles are so close to a nice number, why not just make them that nice number.
: Alea jacta est. Determine what you intend to accomplish with an action before execution.
Have you ever heard the gospel? Most have not.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6550
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Increase Big Electric Pole Wire Reach to 32 to = Chunk Size

Post by Koub »

Or desalign them so much that one would not cringe seeing the "almost aligning but not entirely" ^^.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Post Reply

Return to “Outdated/Not implemented”