[0.16.51][mac] Crash on start: "GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION"

Post Reply
kwisatz
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:13 pm

[0.16.51][mac] Crash on start: "GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION"

Post by kwisatz » Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:01 am

Hi,

I play on my brand new MacBook Pro 2018 [edit: with Mac OS High Sierra] with core i9 and two graphic adapters :
- integrated Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 Mo ;
- discrete Radeon Pro 560X 4096 Mo.

The game refuses to use high sprite resolution (it says more than 3Gb video ram needed, and claims that I have 1536Mb.

From the log file :

Code: Select all

   0.006 System info: [CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-8950HK CPU @ 2.90GHz, 12 cores, RAM: 32768 MB]
   0.009 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 1] [UIScale: system (100.0%)] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 1] [Lang: en]
   0.009 Available display adapters: 2
   0.009  [0]: resolution 1680x1050px at [0,0]
   0.009  [1]: resolution 1920x1080px at [-125,-1080]
   0.009 Create display on adapter 1. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
   0.463 [OpenGL] glClear in ogl_clear:0: GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION
   0.477 Initialised OpenGL:[1] AMD Radeon Pro 560X OpenGL Engine; driver: 2.1 ATI-1.68.20
   0.478   Dedicated video memory size [color=#FF0000]1536 MB[/color]
   0.764 Graphics settings preset: high
   0.764 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: normal] [Video memory usage: high] [Light scale: 25%] [DXT: false] [Shader: 1]
   0.764                   [Parallel sprite loading: 1] [Max texture size: 0/8192] [Bmp cache: 0] [Sprite slicing: 1] [Low quality rotation: 0]
1536Mb is the integrated card memory size, when the game appears to use the discrete adapter with 4096Mb.

In the activity monitor, factorio seems to run on the discrete card indeed.

Would there be a wrong detection of video ram when there is a discrete card ?

Just in case someone would ask if the dual display is the culprit (it is not), here is the log when the second display is not plugged in:

Code: Select all

   0.007 System info: [CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-8950HK CPU @ 2.90GHz, 12 cores, RAM: 32768 MB]
   0.010 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 1] [UIScale: system (100.0%)] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 1] [Lang: en]
   0.010 Available display adapters: 1
   0.010  [0]: resolution 1680x1050px at [0,0]
   0.010 Create display on adapter 0. Size 1280x720 at position [190, 147].
   0.454 [OpenGL] glClear in ogl_clear:0: GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION
   0.455 Initialised OpenGL:[0] AMD Radeon Pro 560X OpenGL Engine; driver: 2.1 ATI-1.68.20
   0.456   Dedicated video memory size 1536 MB
   0.751 Graphics settings preset: high
   0.751 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: normal] [Video memory usage: high] [Light scale: 25%] [DXT: false] [Shader: 1]
   0.751                   [Parallel sprite loading: 1] [Max texture size: 0/8192] [Bmp cache: 0] [Sprite slicing: 1] [Low quality rotation: 0]
Running standalone or via steam is the same.

Thx


posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 2748
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: [0.16.51][mac] Crash on start: "GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION"

Post by posila » Mon Dec 03, 2018 1:29 pm

OpenGL doesn't have standardized way to get VRAM size, so we use some macOS specific functions and it seems to fail VRAM size of the dedicated GPU. We will try to improve this for 0.17, you can change the settings manually (the game messages are just warnings)

jiri
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 9:48 pm

Re: [0.16.51][mac] Crash on start: "GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION"

Post by jiri » Tue Dec 11, 2018 3:53 pm

This should be fixed in 0.17 :)

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved for 0.17”