[0.9.8] Stuck belts in special cases of belt junctions

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
zwockel
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 4:25 pm
Contact:

[0.9.8] Stuck belts in special cases of belt junctions

Post by zwockel »

https://forums.factorio.com/forum/dow ... iew&id=874

the iron got stuck when the upper transport belt hit another iron, which is moving horizontal (see the red arrows)
happens around 5-10 minutes if I keep it like into the first picture.

normally, the upper right iron bouces back a little bit to make room like into the 2nd picture but since it's a curve transport belt, it's not possible and both parts are getting stuck.

savegame is too long (6 MB), only 1 MB is allowed...
Attachments
Iron Transport Bug.jpg
Iron Transport Bug.jpg (106.11 KiB) Viewed 8347 times

User avatar
Drury
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by Drury »

Happens to me with steel bars. Rather annoying.
Image

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11002
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by ssilk »

Looks like reintroduced bug for me. Savegame might be needed! Please try to upload it to some free upload-hoster.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

slpwnd
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1835
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by slpwnd »

A save for this one would be very helpful indeed.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11002
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by ssilk »

When I read it: I had it yesterday.

It happens, when you have a long belt, like in the pic above the lower belt and besides a belt full of items in parallel., like the upper belt. But the upper belts doesn't side insert, it lays just in parallel.

And now place a turn instead of the straight belt at the top of the upper belt-line, so that it side-inserts into the lower belt. That produced that situation...
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7431
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by kovarex »

I just wanted to inform you, that I have quite big optimisations of transport belts planned for 0.11 that should solve this issue as side effect as well.
It will do these 3 things;
  • The movement of items on transport belts should be much less cpu heavy
  • The stuck items on transport belt will be no existent (not even for putting things into curve etc.)
  • Curves should not slow down the throughout

BurnHard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by BurnHard »

These are very good news!

Turtle
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by Turtle »

Indeed! Great to hear about belt optimization!

sillyfly
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by sillyfly »

kovarex wrote:
  • Curves should not slow down the throughout
Hooray!
This actually bugged me ever since I found out it happens, as it really doesn't make sense physically...

User avatar
Cordylus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by Cordylus »

It still exists ingame.
I met this bug with the copper plates on the express belt in 0.11.7
Image

FishSandwich
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by FishSandwich »

Cordylus wrote:It still exists ingame.
I met this bug with the copper plates on the express belt in 0.11.7
The fix was delayed to 0.12 :)

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7431
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] iron transport bug

Post by kovarex »

Thanks for the notice, I know it still exists (it is logical implication of the mechanics the way move). As I said, once I redo the internal mechanics of belt movement as part of the optimisations, it should be solved with that. But as the multiplayer and other work took quite big amount of time, this is still not done.

User avatar
Cordylus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] Stuck belts in special cases of belt junctions

Post by Cordylus »

But it's strange issue. I'm pretty sure that this belt worked fine in the previous versions. It happened in 0.11.

FishSandwich
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] Stuck belts in special cases of belt junctions

Post by FishSandwich »

Cordylus wrote:But it's strange issue. I'm pretty sure that this belt worked fine in the previous versions. It happened in 0.11.
It'll work randomly. The problem is from your inserter putting an item on a corner belt, this causes items to get stuck there or further down the line.

@xi@g@me
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:03 pm
Contact:

[0.11.16] - blocked items when merging on a single belt

Post by @xi@g@me »

We got this in a multiplayer game while trying to make a green potion production automation...
The gears are blocked and cannot go on the left side of the belt. If I go near them and take some, it works fine, and then freezes again @ the same place.
Sans titre2.png
Sans titre2.png (1.04 MiB) Viewed 4572 times

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7166
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.16] - blocked items when merging on a single belt

Post by bobingabout »

hmmm, that's an odd one.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7431
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] Stuck belts in special cases of belt junctions

Post by kovarex »

I merged the topics.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7166
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] Stuck belts in special cases of belt junctions

Post by bobingabout »

hee, an old bug is back.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

@xi@g@me
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] Stuck belts in special cases of belt junctions

Post by @xi@g@me »

We moved the place where the belts joined (not at the same place than for the circuits now), and it seems to work fine. I tried to put it back as it was to repro the bug, but nothing. We'll try again tomorrw at 2 players.

@xi@g@me
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.9.8] Stuck belts in special cases of belt junctions

Post by @xi@g@me »

Was not able to repro the bug, even with the same configuration... but I had it several times in other configurations (involving two belts merging in one) while building them in .11.16 and .11.17

Also, got this today (0.11.17)
Sans titre.png
Sans titre.png (755.64 KiB) Viewed 4495 times

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users