Tooltip for "Each" wildcard is insufficient for arithmetic combinator

Post your bugs and problems so we can fix them.
Galdoc
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 9:43 pm
Contact:

Tooltip for "Each" wildcard is insufficient for arithmetic combinator

Post by Galdoc »

The tooltip for the "Each" signal does not do a good job of explaining its behavior in the context of an arithmetic combinator. For example, each + 0 = (sum of all values), each + each = each * 2, etc. are not at all well explained. It also references the notion of 'passing conditions' in the arithmetic combinator, but there aren't any -- they're all binary operators.

Suggestion: Make the tooltip statically read as such:

Code: Select all

Evaluates the condition for each input signal individually.
In a decider combinator:
<stuff>
In an arithmetic combinator:
<more stuff>
in other contexts:
<even more stuff>
and add a more detailed description in the factoriopedia. <3
11-08-2024, 10-17-09.png
11-08-2024, 10-17-09.png (291.52 KiB) Viewed 222 times
11-08-2024, 10-17-40.png
11-08-2024, 10-17-40.png (329.07 KiB) Viewed 222 times
User avatar
LCStark
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 5:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Tooltip for "Each" wildcard is insufficient for arithmetic combinator

Post by LCStark »

Galdoc wrote: Fri Nov 08, 2024 3:20 pm The tooltip for the "Each" signal does not do a good job of explaining its behavior in the context of an arithmetic combinator. For example, each + 0 = (sum of all values), each + each = each * 2, etc. are not at all well explained. It also references the notion of 'passing conditions' in the arithmetic combinator, but there aren't any -- they're all binary operators.
That's because "each + 0" isn't "sum of all values" per se, and each + each isn't each * 2. Each + 0 does basically nothing, as it adds 0 to every individual signal. If you select a single signal as output, then it gives you the sum of all values, but that's not a property of the arithmetic combinator, that's just the standard behaviour of adding signal values when you connect multiple signal sources to a single line. Likewise, each + each will either be the doubled sum of all inputs if you select a single signal as the output, or simply every input signal doubled if you select "each".

Either way, I agree that the signal network and some signal & combinator behaviours could perhaps be explained better in the tips and tricks section, with several examples of common usage like those. But that definitely isn't a bug in the game.
robot256
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 929
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:52 am
Contact:

Re: Tooltip for "Each" wildcard is insufficient for arithmetic combinator

Post by robot256 »

It needs to be more clear that selecting Each in either combinator results in a separate copy of that entire combinator being executed for every nonzero input signal, and the outputs of all the executions are wire-summed together if any have the same output signal(s).
BleuSquid
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2024 9:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Tooltip for "Each" wildcard is insufficient for arithmetic combinator

Post by BleuSquid »

The tooltip when viewed in the Arithmetic Combinator states that a signal must pass conditions, yet the Arithmetic Combinator doesn't have conditions. The bug is in the tooltip, not in the behaviour of the combinator. Can it have a different tooltip depending on where it's viewed?
User avatar
LCStark
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 5:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Tooltip for "Each" wildcard is insufficient for arithmetic combinator

Post by LCStark »

robot256 wrote: Fri Nov 08, 2024 9:01 pm It needs to be more clear that selecting Each in either combinator results in a separate copy of that entire combinator being executed for every nonzero input signal, and the outputs of all the executions are wire-summed together if any have the same output signal(s).
True. There are some very not obvious things happening, like the zero output from "everything" or "each" conditions that people report as a bug every couple of days. Though I'm wondering if that's something that can be solved with just a tooltip update, or if it would need something more. I was thinking a tips and tricks section (maybe with an interactive tutorial like the ones for the train signals?) would be great, but maybe something simpler would work. Like maybe an additional notification in the combinator input section above all the conditions? Something that shows the player "for each of (count) signals:".
Galdoc
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 9:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Tooltip for "Each" wildcard is insufficient for arithmetic combinator

Post by Galdoc »

Proposed tooltip exact text:

When use as input, this considers each input signal individually.
In a decider combinator, it will output each signal that has completely passed all conditions.
In an arithmetic combinator, if the output is not also an Each wildcard, the value of the chosen output signal will be the sum of the operation performed on each input.
Post Reply

Return to “Bug Reports”