[QoL][clipboard][BP] optionally include tiles when copying

Suggestions that were added to the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
User avatar
Twisted_Code
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 1:15 am
Contact:

[QoL][clipboard][BP] optionally include tiles when copying

Post by Twisted_Code »

since the idea of the copy & paste tools is to avoid having to make temporary blueprints, I find it strange I still have to do so when I want to copy some tiles that are under whatever else I'm copying. It doesn't happen often, but when it happens (most often when I'm deploying train tracks near water), it feels like I'm taking a step back into Factorio 0.16. maybe there could be an option somewhere around the hot bar (though I'm not sure exactly where) to allow tiles to be forcibly included when copying?
How to report bugs effectively (archived version)because everyone should know this.
The game's tech tree, a visual reference guide.

User avatar
bormand
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: [QoL][clipboard][BP] optionally include tiles when copying

Post by bormand »

You can hold shift while selecting area to copy. Although it shows blueprint UI, resulting blueprint would be available for Ctrl-V and would not clutter your inventory if you dismiss it by Q.

Edit: it also works for trains and station names.

User avatar
Twisted_Code
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 1:15 am
Contact:

Re: [QoL][clipboard][BP] optionally include tiles when copying

Post by Twisted_Code »

Oh, didn't realize that. My bad!

(although to be fair, it's not exactly the most obvious thing. I'm just sorry I made a thread instead of finding out about this via the #quick-questions channel on discord)
How to report bugs effectively (archived version)because everyone should know this.
The game's tech tree, a visual reference guide.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6547
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [QoL][clipboard][BP] optionally include tiles when copying

Post by Koub »

Twisted_Code wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 1:40 am
I'm just sorry I made a thread instead of finding out about this via the #quick-questions channel on discord)
I'm glad you came here, not everybody goes on discord, and a forum is far less volatile than a discord channel.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Pi-C
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:13 am
Contact:

Re: [QoL][clipboard][BP] optionally include tiles when copying

Post by Pi-C »

Twisted_Code wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 1:40 am
I'm just sorry I made a thread instead of finding out about this via the #quick-questions channel on discord)
In case you don't know, the forum has a similar thread: Simple Questions and Short Answers
A good mod deserves a good changelog. Here's a tutorial (WIP) about Factorio's way too strict changelog syntax!

User avatar
Twisted_Code
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 1:15 am
Contact:

Re: [QoL][clipboard][BP] optionally include tiles when copying

Post by Twisted_Code »

Pi-C wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 7:00 am
In case you don't know, the forum has a similar thread: Simple Questions and Short Answers
oh, good to know!

edit: sorry for the over-a-month bump. I usually check the discord WAY more often than I visit the forum... oh well!
How to report bugs effectively (archived version)because everyone should know this.
The game's tech tree, a visual reference guide.

Post Reply

Return to “Implemented Suggestions”