Rails auto-deconstruction trees/rocks/...

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
User avatar
PanTobi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:34 am
Contact:

Rails auto-deconstruction trees/rocks/...

Post by PanTobi »

Plz don't bully me for no using Template xD #lol...

its short and simple idea... When placing rails things like trees / rocks etc. are auto-marked for deconstruction...
Its annoying AF when you build LONG railway and every 10/15 segments you have
to stop -> hold shift -> make sure rails dont make any weird "S" shape and wait for bots to build that...

Its less annoying when You have to go thru forest... because You know that u will have to stop and remove forest first
but when You go thru Desert... random single little dead tree is UHH... so annoying... so plz...

Auto Deconstruction for Trees / Rocks when placing rails xD

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11973
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Rails auto-deconstruction trees/rocks/...

Post by ssilk »

I changed the title a bit

I can recommend the F.A.R.L. Mod
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/FARL

It removes the issues and adds some. :D
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

boran_blok
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:56 am
Contact:

Re: Rails auto-deconstruction trees/rocks/...

Post by boran_blok »

Or build rails using blueprints.

I have a chunk aligned rails template, and I build all my rails from map view and then I just go out there and actually build em with the bots.

User avatar
PanTobi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Rails auto-deconstruction trees/rocks/...

Post by PanTobi »

Build Rails using blueprints... yeee sure...

its way faster to set Game Time to x3 and run manualy placing rails...
some of my rail roads are 10km long... building that with BP is waste of time...

@ssilk
What exacly this mod do?...
Because i don't want to place Rails under my loco... its stopid...

When i was in Shop i was thinking about that problem... and i think i can use Map and Spidertrons to automate Rail Placing process...
but its still only Idea... will test it later :x


Its much faster to build Roads and Rails manualy on Game Speed x3 when You have to build roads on that huge distance:
Image

Pi-C
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1031
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:13 am
Contact:

Re: Rails auto-deconstruction trees/rocks/...

Post by Pi-C »

Kind of FARL light: Ghosts of rails, signals, and power poles are built from inventory of player or train, rocks and trees are deconstructed automatically, if necessary.
A good mod deserves a good changelog. Here's a tutorial (WIP) about Factorio's way too strict changelog syntax!

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11973
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Rails auto-deconstruction trees/rocks/...

Post by ssilk »

You know you can use ghost building? It removes the stones and trees automatically? Just use shift with rail in hand. Placing rails by your robots.
Screenshot 2021-04-01 at 22.38.43.png
Screenshot 2021-04-01 at 22.38.43.png (2.31 MiB) Viewed 153 times


And FARL has many youtube video that show how it works. It places rails, signals and power poles in front of the lokomotive. It has also a mode, where it drives a ghosted rail and places all. It can also build over water (you need to take landfill with you). That mod is extremly useful, when building tracks longer than 500 meters.

I use FARL as my "building horse": It has five wagons or so with everything needed to make large outposts. :)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
PanTobi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Rails auto-deconstruction trees/rocks/...

Post by PanTobi »

@Ssilk...
1) Why ur Ghosts are Purple... lol
2) Yee i know... but using Shift i waste a lot of time...
as i said... I'm using Game Speed Buttons Mod to change Game Speed to x3
and then i just run from one end to another placing rails manualy

Building Rails that way on 5km takes only like 5 min if u dont have to stop to remove trees / rocks

but its fine...
I tested Spidertrons :x... You can place Rails from map View ( ofc. u will not see Ghosts so u have to do it perfectly )
and then i just send Spidertron to where Ghost should start, and then command spider to move where rails end

i think u need at least level 12 or maybe 14 Construction Bots Speed... so they can catch up after Spider while spider is moving
But im not sure... my bots are level 18 and it looks like they barely keep up after Spider sometimes...

but... its even better way than placing rails manualy on GameSpeed x3

because it takes only 15 / 20 sec to setup everything

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11973
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Rails auto-deconstruction trees/rocks/...

Post by ssilk »

PanTobi wrote:
Sat Apr 03, 2021 6:20 am
@Ssilk...
1) Why ur Ghosts are Purple... lol
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Blue-Ghosts
2) Yee i know... but using Shift i waste a lot of time...
as i said... I'm using Game Speed Buttons Mod to change Game Speed to x3
and then i just run from one end to another placing rails manualy

Building Rails that way on 5km takes only like 5 min if u dont have to stop to remove trees / rocks
With FARL I build 5 km with some curves + signals + poles in under 5 minutes. Including the return rail! I always make 2-way railway.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”