Bikeshedding about non-blocking saving on Windows

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

ptx0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Bikeshedding about non-blocking saving on Windows

Post by ptx0 »

Rseding91 wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 4:56 pm
Non-blocking saving isn't possible to implement on windows in the same way it works on the other platforms. Windows does not have process forking.
it has been implemented via Cygwin (and i presume subsystem for Linux but you cant guarantee its presence or featureset), and the details of those two implementations are probably pretty equally shitty: http://cygwin.com/cygwin-ug-net/highlig ... hi-process

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: better compression algorithm for saves and mods

Post by Jap2.0 »

Rseding91 wrote:
Non-blocking saving isn't possible to implement on windows in the same way it works on the other platforms. Windows does not have process forking.
I'm not an expert on Windows APIs by any means, but apparently there is ZwCreateProcess which is similar. (example 1, example 2 (original) - first is GPLv2 and the second is some obscure French license so I'm not sure if you can directly use either of them, but they exist.)

Granted it's technically undocumented (except for some random book that seems to have a lot of Windows API documentation from ~2000 that I keep seeing mentioned) so that's not ideal but Windows tends to have pretty stable APIs (...for the most part, see below).

Edit: example 1 was released under MIT so that should be fine (1/2)

Edit 2: Apparently at least the first has issues on newer than Vista. But it might be possible. Maybe. Probably still not something you want to get into, but just in case there's enough interest.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by ssilk »

Rseding91 wrote: