Add the old tutorial back

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

JamesC01
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Add the old tutorial back

Post by JamesC01 »

TL;DR: I think the old tutorial should be added back, alongside the new one, since it goes into more detail and is a nicer introduction, in my opinion.

I just bought factorio. Before that, I played demo 0.16.51, and really enjoyed the tutorial. I really liked that it told you everything in detail, without leaving you with questions and frustration. I just started playing the new tutorial, and I have to be honest, I don't think it's great for new players (I'd consider myself fairly new, since I've only played the original demo tutorials.)

The original tutorial explains things clearly, and doesn't leave you struggling, which personally, I like. I know some people like to figure everything out by themselves, but I personally just get frustrated when I can't figure out how to do something, and the new tutorial does just that, it left me stuck on some parts, and even when the robot gives you more info, it's still not very detailed. I won't really go into detail, since basically everything I've seen so far in the new tutorial isn't introduced as nicely as the original.

I think the old tutorial should be put back in the game, maybe alongside the new one as an extra tutorial, since it gives more detail. Or maybe tweak the newer tutorial, but I still feel the original would be better. I wouldn't have wanted my first experience with factorio to be frustration because I couldn't figure out how to do something, that's the type of thing that would push me away from buying the game.