Screen resolution change ability in full-screen mode

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
iamtakingiteasy
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:27 pm
Contact:

Screen resolution change ability in full-screen mode

Post by iamtakingiteasy » Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:35 pm

Hello, it would be nice if it was possible to change resolution (lower, actually) in full-screen mode. In some use-cases (like in mine), i have a big display and sitting fairly far from it, so some text is getting barely readable without forcing eyes.

Of course proper solution would be a GUI scaling, but for a time being, i think implementing resolution selection should be an easier alternative, which should not be harmful for future implementation of GUI/text scaling anyway, but allow to play on setups such as mine without lowering whole desktop screen resolution first; sooner.

Thanks.

idgod88
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution change ability in full-screen mode

Post by idgod88 » Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:55 pm

I would like to push this topic again (two years from now).

The problem is:
I have a Macbook (problem enough for gaming?), when travelling over the week. My gaming rig is at home, but I want to continue playing Factorio, so I have to use it.

This 13" MacBook features a retina display, but gaming at that resolution is kind of impossible (Intel Graphics), so I always have to adjust the scaling on my desktop before playing. ALT+TABBING into the browser is a nightmare, because the browser engine identifies the resolution as "1024x640".

So -> why not setting up a simple resolution dropdown field in graphics, where I can choose a factorio resolution, that fits my needs?
Should be simple and (seriously) every other game features this.

golfmiketango
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 525
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:48 am
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution change ability in full-screen mode

Post by golfmiketango » Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:19 pm

GUI scaling is implemented in the game, as is zoom in/out for everything else. Also, at least in linux, factorio is able to dynamically adapt to screen resolution changes, i.e., if I take a full screen game and drag-drop it onto another differently-sized monitor it does the right thing. Does mac not support GPU-scaled virtual resolutions?

idgod88
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution change ability in full-screen mode

Post by idgod88 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 6:23 pm

I do not have a second monitor - I'm on a MacBook (it's a laptop - portable Mac) so I cannot drop my game window on any other display with a lower resolution. GUI Scaling works fine, but I cannot set a specific ingame resolution fixed for every time I start the game.

idgod88
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution change ability in full-screen mode

Post by idgod88 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:57 pm

Now I got your point from last post - resolution is dynamically changed, but to play factorio with 60FPS, I need to lower the desktop resolution to achieve these. Factorio should be configurable, so I can force a resolution on which the game should run.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]