Add concrete to Upgrade Planner

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
hale42
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:26 am
Contact:

Re: Add flooring options to upgrade planner

Post by hale42 »

any water->landfill
any non-concrete/stone path/refined concrete->concrete

the landfill alone would be great. right now my fix is download a mod to place water->make a 110x110 lake fill it in then place what i need to place on top of it. I would rather just tell the game to auto landfill or something

conn11
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Add flooring options to upgrade planner

Post by conn11 »

Using the plain old blueprint for mass placing flooring or landfill should be much more easy with the awaited place from map feature.
Probably even easier than OP’s suggestion of using the upgrade planner.

foamy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:14 am
Contact:

Re: Add flooring options to upgrade planner

Post by foamy »

ssilk wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:41 am
Generally a good idea. How should that work?
I mean: when you want to upgrade ground to concrete, how should the interface look like?

Some hints: there are many types of ground. Should this just be “any” ground, or do you want to differ between types like “sand”, “landfill”...
I wasn't thinking of ground specifically, any more than you can use the upgrade planner to do the initial placement of anything else. I was thinking of, specifically, changing between the various kinds of placeable flooring: brick, concrete, hazard concrete, refined concrete, and refined hazard concrete. The UI would therefore be, well, basically exactly the same as it is for anything else in the upgrade planner: Select the kind of entity you want to replace, then choose what you want to replace it with, then click and drag over the map.
conn11 wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 3:36 pm
Using the plain old blueprint for mass placing flooring or landfill should be much more easy with the awaited place from map feature.
Probably even easier than OP’s suggestion of using the upgrade planner.
For initial placing, maybe. But for, e.g., a bulk upgrade of concrete to refined concrete, particularly whilst preserving hazard markings? I don't think so.

cansteam
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:43 am
Contact:

Stone brick, concrete, and refined concrete in upgrade planner

Post by cansteam »

TL;DR
Allow the built tiles to be put in the upgrade planner's filters so you can upgrade them remotely.
What ?
This image (that I spent a little too much time photoshopping) explains it pretty clearly.
Image

Why ?
Same reason you use the upgrade planner for inserters and assembly machines. Long range replacement of tiles. Clearly not as important, and doesn't necessarily make as sense as everything else in the upgrade planner, but it would still serve a purpose.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6029
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Add flooring options to upgrade planner

Post by Koub »

[Koub] Merged into older topic with same suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

cansteam
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by cansteam »

Sorry didn't know there was already a thread for this!


Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6029
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Add concrete to Upgrade Planner

Post by Koub »

[Koub] Merged several topics with same suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users