Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
ElderAxe
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:04 am
Contact:

Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by ElderAxe »

Has this ever happened to you?
Imagine, you want to remotely upgrade some miners, assemblers, etc., and you just can't.

What is my suggestion?
We should have a NULL Module marker added to the vanilla game. So we can use it on upgrade planner to add/remove modules to/from entities.
null-module.png
null-module.png (26.17 KiB) Viewed 1922 times
Also we have a similar problem with blueprints as well. When we place a blueprint on top of an existing one with different module setup, module slots on the blueprint are ignored.
Only way to overcome this problem is to delete existing entities and place the same blueprint again with modules included.

superwad
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by superwad »

I would love to see something like this. As it stands today, you have to place one and blueprint the rest. Not so easy when you're working remotely.

demonkoryu
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by demonkoryu »

+1

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6551
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by Koub »

Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Diablo-D3
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 6:54 am
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by Diablo-D3 »

Please, for the love all that is holy, add this. This is maybe one of the most frustrating remaining quality of life things left in Factorio, and gets in the way of quick gameplay.

Abarel
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by Abarel »

Tha would be a nice feature. I would love to setup miners and later add modules when I get them

CapnCrinklepants
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by CapnCrinklepants »

Support! The tedium of module replacement is why I ignore modules and beacons until I get module 3s. If it were easy to do, I would be hard pressed to give any more excuses.

User avatar
Oktokolo
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by Oktokolo »

Would be nice to be able to switch mixed module configurations with other mixed module configurations by using the upgrade planner. So i could switch my early-game 3 x eff1 + 1 x empty to 2 x speed2 + 2 x prod2 on the tier three assemblers after power production scaled up.

slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 587
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by slippycheeze »

Since nobody mentioned it, Module Inserter provides a planner specifically for modules and construction robots. I feel it demonstrates the viability of the idea of either the upgrade planner doing them, or a separate, dedicated planner doing them.

User avatar
Oktokolo
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by Oktokolo »

slippycheeze wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:01 am
Since nobody mentioned it, Module Inserter provides a planner specifically for modules and construction robots.
Thanks - definitly one of the must-have QoL mods.

thuejk
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by thuejk »

I want this!

foamy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:14 am
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by foamy »

Please.

Guenni7
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 5:53 am
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by Guenni7 »

+1

User avatar
Fargotroniac
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:22 am
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by Fargotroniac »

Good idea

conn11
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Module Slots and Upgrade Planner - Let's Talk

Post by conn11 »

Since Bp mirroring is vanilla now, there is little reason not having module insertion or removal for the upgrade planner.
Not a new suggestion, but I’m liking OPs mockup.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”