Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by Koub » Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:05 pm

Well title says it all : I'd like Factorio to remember its window geometry (size & position) when I exit the game, so that I don't have to resize and move it the same way every time I launch the game. People who play in full screen probably don't have this need, but I play in windowed mode, with a few windows opened all around I like to keep an eye on, and that would help a lot (me, and people who play in windowed mode like me ^^).

I'm sure it's not that hard to add as a feature, but it would be sooooo nice :mrgreen:
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
Phillip_Lynx
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by Phillip_Lynx » Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:22 pm

Hmm ...

I play Windowed (due to recording issues) and my factorio remembers its position and size. Do you have Admin rights on your harddrive?

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by Koub » Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:05 pm

I do, but Factorio is run with user privilege, not admin. Apps should not be run with admin privileges on regular basis.
However, I have tried to launch Factorio with admin rights to see if it changes anything ; it didn't.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
Phillip_Lynx
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by Phillip_Lynx » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:07 am

My factorio also runs with normal user privileges.

But at my work I sometimes come to problems when Users do not have the right to write to certain directory a cfg-file (named fin.zup :)). So personal settings are not stored and their programs start every time with the standard settings.

Wich OS do you have? With Windows 7 there are no problems for me to start factorio with stored geometry.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6673
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by bobingabout » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:08 am

When I read the title, this isn't the idea that popped into my head.

I was thinking in-game windows, such as your inventory. They should be able to be resized (so that they don't fill the entire screen every time you open them, and scroll bars apear and disapear as needed) as well as moved, and that once closed, they remember their size and position, so that when you open the same menu again next time, they're the same size in the same place.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by MF- » Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:40 am

Your window manager can't remember / set-to-configured-values the geometry?
Why do you use something so crappy? Pity you can't change to just anything else really :P

(Feel free to ignore this post. Though I'd like to learn if there actually is a WM that can't do it.
Not counting tiling-only window managers that don't support free-floating windows of course.)

User avatar
MasterBuilder
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:22 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by MasterBuilder » Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:05 am

Factorio never seems to remember window position, size, or window state for me.

I keep the game in windowed mode and maximize it whenever I play. (Makes it easy to switch to things on the other monitors.)
Every time I launch the game it's position is reset to dead-center of the primary monitor with a size I estimate to be 640*360.

It's not the window size that bugs me but the fact that it won't remember to be maximized that's irksome.

I've tried setting the shortcut properties to maximized. I've tried using "start /max factorio.exe". (Both flash a maximized window before restoring the default one.)

System: Win7 x64. Using the x64 zip package.
Game runs from: "O:\Program Files\Factorio\bin\x64". It was never 'installed' I just placed it there and set up shortcuts myself. ("Manual installation" if you will.)
I have full write access to that folder (I am also CREATOR OWNER.) and any changes made in the game are reflected in "Factorio\config\config.ini" and persist after restarting.
I have never run the game with admin privileges and will continue not doing so on principal. (If this is needed for the fix just tell me where it's trying to write and I will alter the permission myself.)
Give a man fire and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by Koub » Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:49 am

I'm sorry I didn't think to specify the OS I'm running on, not used to play on games that can be run on OSX, Linux, and Windows :mrgreen:.
I'm on Windows 7 x64 SP1 Integral edition.

Hereunder Factorio aspect upon launch. This is the default game window size. I don't like to have it run maximized or in full size, I prefer to play Factorio in a custom window size.
Attachments
Factorio window geometry.jpg
Factorio window geometry.jpg (862.48 KiB) Viewed 3292 times
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by MF- » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:11 pm

I haven't actually tried asking my WM to resize the game (my screen is tiny compared to yours).
Perhaps I would see the same problem of the game shrinking itself back like you did.

Then one might try using some window-commanding cli tools to resize the window X seconds after start.
I think there must be such tools available for windows as well.

EDIT: Strange that your windows 7 x64 cannot run factorio with stored geometry, while Phillip_Lynx's windows 7 can.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by Koub » Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:39 pm

Most of the apps I use do remember their size and positioning, so I don't think it's a general misbehaviour of my computer.
Maybe is there something in my config that specifically prevents Factorio storing its windows position and size ? That seems particularly unlikely (but not impossible).

I have made sure I have full access on the Factorio root folder and subfolders, as well as on the %APPDATA%\Factorio\ folder and subfolders.
I used Factorio x64 installer to install it.

I'm downloading the x86 and x64 zip files to compare behaviours, I'll try them tomorrow morning : it's getting late, time to sleep ^^
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by Koub » Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:13 am

I have tried the Windows x86 and Windows x64 zip package, and behaviour is the same : whatever the game window geometry when I exit the game, it's always the same small window when I launch it again.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

JackGruff
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by JackGruff » Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:01 pm

You can try using nircmd. http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/nircmd.html

Put nircmd.exe inside the bin folder and put this bat file in as well.

Code: Select all

START Factorio.exe
nircmd.exe cmdwait 1000 win setsize ititle "Factorio" 30 30 1000 500 
The last four numbers are position from left, right, width and height in pixels. The first number is a delay in milliseconds.

You also get a nice borderless effect if Factorio is set to fullscreen.
Attachments
Capture.jpg
Capture.jpg (156.5 KiB) Viewed 2990 times

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by Koub » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:06 pm

Thanks for the tip, after a grat lot of tries, I managed to put the window exactly at the size and place I wanted to.
However, I still think the game souldn't need a third party tool to redim its window size and pos at every launch.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by MF- » Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:45 am

Congrats
However, I still think the WM of Microsoft shouldn't need a third party tool to provide basic WM functionality :P

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Could Factorio window geometry be saved upon exit ?

Post by Koub » Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:08 pm

Windows' Window Manager does provide basic WM functionality. Some of my software (Skype, Mumble, Steam, Firefox, Chrome, Paint.net, and many others) take advantage from it and remember their size/position when closed and reopened. Some others (Ultra Edit 32 v10, some games, including Factorio) do not and reset their size/position every time I run them. Some of my apps/games remember the size, but not tho position.

So it's not a matter of WM functionality, but a matter of software not taking advantage of it. I'd really be happy if the devs could give it a look, I'm pretty sure it wouldn't need a huge overhaul, and would be a blessing for us all who don't play in full screen on Windows :roll:
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
SuicidalKid
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:58 pm
Contact:

Windows Resolution

Post by SuicidalKid » Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:33 pm

joined, identical -- ßilk

I know that you can manually resize the game window to suit your needs, however, I would greatly appreciate an in-game or .ini option for saved resolution whilst in windowed mode. Could save valuable screen real-estate :)
I have no idea what I'm doing.

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Remember window size, position and state

Post by factoriouzr » Sat Oct 29, 2016 7:35 pm

As stated, I play Factorio maximized and every time I install mods or restart the game, it goes back to a small centered window and I have to maximize it again.

It would be nice if Factorio remembered it's position, size and state (eg. if it's maximized or not)

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5136
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Remember window size, position and state

Post by Loewchen » Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:09 pm

It should, please upload a log.

daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Contact:

Re: Remember window size, position and state

Post by daniel34 » Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:29 pm

It never has remembered position and size of the window, only if it's set to fullscreen or not. When not in fullscreen it will always start in 1280x720 centered on the screen.

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Re: Remember window size, position and state

Post by factoriouzr » Mon Oct 31, 2016 1:20 pm

daniel34 wrote:It never has remembered position and size of the window, only if it's set to fullscreen or not. When not in fullscreen it will always start in 1280x720 centered on the screen.
Exactly! Though I never played it full screen, I always play it windowed and maximized and it indeed has NEVER remembered it's location, size or maximized state

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users