More Markers

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
YumYumFisch
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:45 pm
Contact:

More Markers

Post by YumYumFisch » Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:58 pm

I have a suggestion for a little tweak to the game.
Just a few minutes ago i walked through my factory and realized: There is a underground belt output without an input.
So i thought how long has this belt been standing there without an input?

Then i thougt maybe it would be a good idea to have a warning message on the map where a underground belt has no input/output.
I dont know how hard it would be to add this feature but i guess it cant be to difficult...

(I would be happy)

EDIT:

Of course the same is true for pipes as well.
Last edited by YumYumFisch on Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sad_Brother
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: More Markers

Post by Sad_Brother » Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:14 pm

There is a case when you would need output without input intentionally.
It is when you would need to separate right and left sides of belt.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1897
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: More Markers

Post by darkfrei » Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:29 pm

Same mod, but for pipes: Unconnected Pipe Finder

YumYumFisch
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:45 pm
Contact:

Re: More Markers

Post by YumYumFisch » Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:45 pm

Sad_Brother wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:14 pm
There is a case when you would need output without input intentionally.
It is when you would need to separate right and left sides of belt.
not really as you can use the filter function of a splitter/balancer (idk the english name) to separate 2 lines of a belt if you have only one resource on one side of the belt

Oh, and if you want to separate a belt using an underground one you must place an input and a output underground belt.

User avatar
Brathahn
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:50 pm
Contact:

Re: More Markers

Post by Brathahn » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:14 pm

YumYumFisch wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:45 pm
not really as you can use the filter function of a splitter/balancer (idk the english name) to separate 2 lines of a belt if you have only one resource on one side of the belt
Oh, and if you want to separate a belt using an underground one you must place an input and a output underground belt.
you can use a single underground belt. also its way faster and smaller than a splitter
ubeltsplit.PNG
ubeltsplit.PNG (83.77 KiB) Viewed 256 times

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1385
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: More Markers

Post by Zavian » Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:10 am

In addition to using undergrounds to separate lanes, when using belt weaving, I often use just the entry underground on the last set of assemblers, because that make it trivial to just blueprint the last 2 assemblers, and then paste the blueprint down to extend the assembly line.

eg
labs.jpg
labs.jpg (906.46 KiB) Viewed 229 times
(Shown here using labs rather than assemblers, but same principle).

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1897
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: More Markers

Post by darkfrei » Fri Feb 15, 2019 6:55 pm

YumYumFisch wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:58 pm
(I would be happy)
Try to be happy:
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/ShowUnconnected
Attachments
2019-02-15 19_25_01-Factorio 0.16.51.png
2019-02-15 19_25_01-Factorio 0.16.51.png (88.58 KiB) Viewed 162 times
2019-02-15 19_26_40-Factorio 0.16.51.png
2019-02-15 19_26_40-Factorio 0.16.51.png (323.75 KiB) Viewed 163 times

User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2047
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: More Markers

Post by Optera » Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:54 pm

For completions sake:
Picker Extended had this feature for belts a while now
PickerPipeTools does a fantastic job sanitizing plumbers nightmares

IronCartographer
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:07 pm
Contact:

Re: More Markers

Post by IronCartographer » Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:31 pm

For even more completion and utility, this has similar effect and even shows the maximum range you can place an underground at while fixing the missing connection: https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Underground%20Indicators

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Draba