More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1383
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by Zavian » Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:24 am

Related to viewtopic.php?f=38&t=64480.

I have a large monitor, easily large enough to support a toolbar 40-50 slots wide. I would like to be able to either expand the existing toolbar(s) to one with 40-50 slots, or alternatively display additional toolbars to the left and right of the standard game's toolbars. (I don't want to add more toolbars vertically, because that starts to encroach on the centre of the screen, which should be kept clear. This would be perfect for keeping lots of blueprints handy, and allowing me to keep all the belts, inserters, pipe, chemplants and assembly machines etc available without needing to keep opening my inventory everytime I try to manually build something.

Personally, I mostly mouse select items from the existing toolbar, so I don't care about keyboard support for the additional items. (Although I'm not suggesting that the existing support should be removed). Please make either the width (number of items horizontally) of each toolbar, or the number and location of visible toolbars, adjustable by the user either, via options or config.ini, or mods/Lua commands or additional researches.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4610
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by Koub » Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:54 am

In addition to this suggestion, OP's suggestion would be nice too.
Just a note : If this suggestion was to be implemented, I'd rather not use commands/mods : both invalidate Steam achievements, which would be too much of a punishment.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1383
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by Zavian » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:06 am

Yeah, I would prefer to see it in vanilla, but if the devs decide not to implement it in vanilla, then I would settle for it being available via mods/lua. (And as I said in the OP, I would settle for just being able to make the stock toolbars 40 to 50 slots wide via command, even if the extra slots don't get keyboard shortcuts).

Nightinggale
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 12:01 pm
Contact:

Re: More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by Nightinggale » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:06 pm

I second this. Playing in 4K on a 27" monitor leaves a lot of unused screen space. It's not a bad design in the sense that it allows more of the map to be viewed at once, but being able to have more toolbar slots present would be really nice.

FFF #278 talks about a quickbar page with multiple quickbars to pick from. Adding more on the screen at once could be done as simple as allowing displaying quickbars side by side instead of just one at a time. Hotkeys would still affect just one, but there could be a hotkey to select which one the hotkeys would pick from. Settings can then control how many the player wants to be displayed, both horizontally and vertically, allowing people to fill up the screen with as many quickbars as the player wants (if the resolution is high enough). This can result in quickbar overkill, but I see no point in limiting this feature more than needed for technical reasons. It might be useful for some, particularly if somebody figures out a way to mod something to make good use of this.

One important aspect to remember here is that now that quickbars are blueprints/ghosts, adding seemingly unlimited slots will not be cheating like it would be right now where items can be stored in the quickbar. It's purely a user interface shortcut or macro access.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6586
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by bobingabout » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:18 am

I can agree that even on a 2560x1440 screen and magnification of 100%, it would be nice to be able to place 2 toolbars side by side.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

egocarib
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 7:30 pm
Contact:

Quickbar - Utilize Horizontal Space Better

Post by egocarib » Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:03 pm

The new 0.17 quickbar has a cool feature that allows you to show up to four rows of items. However, when you enable this feature it obstructs a significant part of the vertical viewing area on a typical widescreen monitor. I tried using the feature for a while, because I like having access to extra items easily, but I ultimately turned it off because it wasn't practical. For example, when exploring the map and zoomed out, I would sometimes encounter a biter base south of me and I would enter aggro range for the enemies before I could even see the base, because the quickbars were obstructing my view.

It would be nice if the quickbar could be expanded horizontally instead of vertically to obstruct less of the screen. Possibilities:
  • Expand the number of items shown in each row.
  • Allow two rows to be placed side-by-side at the bottom of the screen.
  • Add an option to show vertical quickbars on the side of the screen instead of horizontal quickbars on the bottom of the screen.
To put some numbers behind it, if you look at this example video of the new 4-row layout, it takes up approximately 20% of the vertical screen space. I assume it varies based on screen dimensions, but this looks like a pretty typical widescreen to me.

I think it'd be cool to have a technology to research that expands the width of the quickbar, but that's just a thought. I'd be in favor of any kind of solution.
Last edited by egocarib on Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:21 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4610
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by Koub » Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:12 pm

[Koub] Merged into older topic with same - or very similar suggestion - for the same issue.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users