More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by Zavian » Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:24 am

Related to viewtopic.php?f=38&t=64480.

I have a large monitor, easily large enough to support a toolbar 40-50 slots wide. I would like to be able to either expand the existing toolbar(s) to one with 40-50 slots, or alternatively display additional toolbars to the left and right of the standard game's toolbars. (I don't want to add more toolbars vertically, because that starts to encroach on the centre of the screen, which should be kept clear. This would be perfect for keeping lots of blueprints handy, and allowing me to keep all the belts, inserters, pipe, chemplants and assembly machines etc available without needing to keep opening my inventory everytime I try to manually build something.

Personally, I mostly mouse select items from the existing toolbar, so I don't care about keyboard support for the additional items. (Although I'm not suggesting that the existing support should be removed). Please make either the width (number of items horizontally) of each toolbar, or the number and location of visible toolbars, adjustable by the user either, via options or config.ini, or mods/Lua commands or additional researches.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4327
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by Koub » Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:54 am

In addition to this suggestion, OP's suggestion would be nice too.
Just a note : If this suggestion was to be implemented, I'd rather not use commands/mods : both invalidate Steam achievements, which would be too much of a punishment.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by Zavian » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:06 am

Yeah, I would prefer to see it in vanilla, but if the devs decide not to implement it in vanilla, then I would settle for it being available via mods/lua. (And as I said in the OP, I would settle for just being able to make the stock toolbars 40 to 50 slots wide via command, even if the extra slots don't get keyboard shortcuts).

Nightinggale
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 12:01 pm
Contact:

Re: More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by Nightinggale » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:06 pm

I second this. Playing in 4K on a 27" monitor leaves a lot of unused screen space. It's not a bad design in the sense that it allows more of the map to be viewed at once, but being able to have more toolbar slots present would be really nice.

FFF #278 talks about a quickbar page with multiple quickbars to pick from. Adding more on the screen at once could be done as simple as allowing displaying quickbars side by side instead of just one at a time. Hotkeys would still affect just one, but there could be a hotkey to select which one the hotkeys would pick from. Settings can then control how many the player wants to be displayed, both horizontally and vertically, allowing people to fill up the screen with as many quickbars as the player wants (if the resolution is high enough). This can result in quickbar overkill, but I see no point in limiting this feature more than needed for technical reasons. It might be useful for some, particularly if somebody figures out a way to mod something to make good use of this.

One important aspect to remember here is that now that quickbars are blueprints/ghosts, adding seemingly unlimited slots will not be cheating like it would be right now where items can be stored in the quickbar. It's purely a user interface shortcut or macro access.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6368
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: More toolbar slots visible on screen.

Post by bobingabout » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:18 am

I can agree that even on a 2560x1440 screen and magnification of 100%, it would be nice to be able to place 2 toolbars side by side.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests