Entity Sensors i.e. detecting bugs before an attack

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
TD350
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:45 pm
Contact:

Entity Sensors i.e. detecting bugs before an attack

Post by TD350 »

TLDR
Detect bugs from range before an attack.

Why should it be added in?
I think it would be a very nice addition to have a method of detecting bugs moving towards your base. I know a alarm sounds when bugs attack your base, but it would be useful to be alerted when they are moving towards your base. So I am suggesting that you add a structure which activates whenever a entity is detected (you should be able to change what it detects, be that a player or a bug). Then this would allow you to connect them up to speakers so you could have a custom alert system in your base.

How will it affect the future of Factorio?
This would age well with new updates that you will most likely introduce which increases the variety of bugs. Thank you for your consideration. I hope my suggestion was clear.

Tekky
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1038
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: Entity Sensors i.e. detecting bugs before an attack

Post by Tekky »

Related threads:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=40784 Pressure Plate (and other Dwarf Fortress things)
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=41805 Sensors and such.
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=8011 [Electronics] - Sensors
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=13127 Wire sensors
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=43771 Motion sensor
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=45956 Player detection for circuit network

TD350
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Entity Sensors i.e. detecting bugs before an attack

Post by TD350 »

Thanks, i searched for related posts but I couldn't find any. It would be very useful to have these sensors in the game.

Tekky
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1038
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: Entity Sensors i.e. detecting bugs before an attack

Post by Tekky »

I agree that it could be useful, too. It would certainly give us a lot more things to play around with regarding the circuit network. :)

Hopefully, it will be possible to implement such a feature without sacrificing too much performance.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”