Crank Bridges

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
DragonPox90210
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:15 am
Contact:

Crank Bridges

Post by DragonPox90210 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:13 pm

I don't like having to go around large bodies of water on my trains so it would be cool to add crank bridges. They'd be like draw bridges but could be activated by some sort of electric signal. They would have to have a limited range, so far I haven't seen any islands so the idea of isolating yourself using a bridge to keep out creepers isn't a problem. Anyway I would just like train add-ons, love the game :)

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am
Contact:

Re: Crank Bridges

Post by FreeER » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:16 am

Islands ARE a possibility. I've been stranded on one at game generation before :)
But yes, bridges would be nice, and they are coming (eventually, I believe lol).

The idea of isolation yourself on an island probably wouldn't work well though, since there would be limited resources :)
<I'm really not active any more so these may not be up to date>
~FreeER=Factorio Modding
- Factorio Wiki
- My Factorio Modding Guide
- Wiki Modding Guide
Feel free to pm me :)
Or drop into #factorio on irc.esper.net

zlosynus
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:17 am
Contact:

Re: Crank Bridges

Post by zlosynus » Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:27 am

DragonPox90210 wrote:... so far I haven't seen any islands so ...
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=5&t=272

Arakasi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Crank Bridges

Post by Arakasi » Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:53 am

zlosynus wrote:
DragonPox90210 wrote:... so far I haven't seen any islands so ...
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=5&t=272
its not an island. its a whole continent :-D
nothing but three tiles of shore and the rest is water

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Crank Bridges

Post by MF- » Tue Apr 16, 2013 2:10 pm

Don't forget about my island.. Unfortunately I couldn't get on it.
Enough space to build some solar plants..

https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 387&p=2390

Candunc
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Crank Bridges

Post by Candunc » Fri May 03, 2013 3:30 pm

This would be a good idea if you could also create rivers. Create a giant moat, and when trains are going across, the crank bridge extends, the train runs over any aliens in the way, and retracts!

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Roxor128