Bridges for Trains

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
User avatar
darkminaz
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:23 pm
Contact:

Bridges for Trains

Post by darkminaz » Sat Aug 09, 2014 7:56 pm

since i manged to kill my last 5 intersecting trains i realised .. bridges or tunnels would be damn wicked. Kinda like the belts just upwards :)
on the same note, a sky train would be awesome :) id love to drive through my base.

Mangledpork
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridges for Trains

Post by Mangledpork » Sat Aug 09, 2014 8:56 pm

You can use train signals to prevent collisions on crossings. I'll be making a tutorial on them some time soon and there's plenty of guides on the wiki page for trains: https://forums.factorio.com/wiki/inde ... ay_network
Also make sure to check the "Frequently requested ideas" post pinned to the top of this forum before making a suggestion.

User avatar
darkminaz
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridges for Trains

Post by darkminaz » Sat Aug 09, 2014 9:49 pm

i know that letting trains wait is one way, but i kinda have some plans what involve a lot of crossings, letting them wait all the time is not an elegant solution to that problem.
ill check next time on the frequently requested ideas, it just kinda rushed to my head to say "i wana have a cool skytrain" :)

Mangledpork
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridges for Trains

Post by Mangledpork » Sat Aug 09, 2014 10:42 pm

Letting them wait is literally the only way to prevent crashes, unless you synchronise the trains with mathematical precision, including track lengths.

User avatar
darkminaz
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridges for Trains

Post by darkminaz » Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:18 am

well i just made a main train station with 4 lines and make sure they never cross each other. but again not exactly what i planed.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10469
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridges for Trains

Post by ssilk » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:48 pm

Well, what did you plan then?

And some hint: Look at the real world - some google maps on your next train station. You'll find switches, many rails, all of it takes some space. :) You'll find bridges only, where there is no other possibility or when the waiting times get too long.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
darkminaz
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridges for Trains

Post by darkminaz » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:11 am

i did live in switzerland, and we had a shitload of tunnels and bridges ^^
or the skytrain in vancouer that was simply amazing.
the waiting times is exactly the part i wana reduce, by creating 1 main hub and a few bridges (for the plan in my head id need around 6)
i woudn't care if they are realy expensive (i.e 500 stone blocks, 200 iron, 10 wood, 10 blue chips) i'm not saying "give me 500 bridges for everything" but a few would be nice.
Same for water, creating things like that giant bridge in new york. Sign me up for 50k iron ;D

Aervanath
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridges for Trains

Post by Aervanath » Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:20 pm

darkminaz wrote:bridges or tunnels would be damn wicked
I just want to bump this thread, I think this is a stellar idea.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users