Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Stumpyofpain
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:31 pm
Contact:

Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by Stumpyofpain » Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:44 pm

TL;DR
Allow Players to change the Anchor Points of Blueprints to place them better.
What ?
Right now, the anchor point of the Blueprints is in the Center of the Blueprint.
For small BP it´s good, but as soon as you get blueprints, which are bigger than your screen, it gets really hard to place them correctly.
Make a hotkey so we can change the anchor point to different places.
2017-06-07 18_34_02-Greenshot.jpg
2017-06-07 18_34_02-Greenshot.jpg (112.75 KiB) Viewed 1429 times
The 0 on the Picture is the anchor point right now.
For the most bigger BP the 4 corners should be good anchor points (Number 1 - 4).
In some cases it might be even better if you could have anchor points between these numbers (for example between 1 and 4)
Why ?
It will help the players to place bigger BP.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10402
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by ssilk » Mon Jun 26, 2017 10:30 pm

Good idea. Hm. I think this is not very intuitive.

What is if you press for example midle button and you move with the mouse to any anker point you want.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
Nexarius
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 7:34 pm
Contact:

large blueprint

Post by Nexarius » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:45 pm

Merged --daniel34

If you have very large blueprint it can get pretty hard to place them in the world because you cannot see it completely and it's centered at the mouse.

Could you add keys (numpad 2, 4, 6, 8) to move the blueprint one field to the side?

deer_buster
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 3:35 am
Contact:

Re: large blueprint

Post by deer_buster » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:00 pm

Nexarius wrote:If you have very large blueprint it can get pretty hard to place them in the world because you cannot see it completely and it's centered at the mouse.

Could you add keys (numpad 2, 4, 6, 8) to move the blueprint one field to the side?
and/or make the max zoom correspond to a 110% view of your whole blueprint without having to lose accomplishments

deer_buster
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 3:35 am
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by deer_buster » Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:19 pm

ssilk wrote:Good idea. Hm. I think this is not very intuitive.

What is if you press for example midle button and you move with the mouse to any anker point you want.
Some configurable hotkey anyway.

It would also be nice if the screen would default zoom out to 110% of the blueprint size so you can see everything it could touch (without losing accomplishments)

plepper1
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 4:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by plepper1 » Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:57 pm

+1

I have a few blueprints that I have to walk far away from the buildsite and then zoom as far out as possible in order to place them accurately. I also have one that I'm unable to use at all because there's no way of seeing it's edges prior to placing it.

JohnyDL
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 503
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by JohnyDL » Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:08 pm

Num pad to set location? or set location in edit blueprint mode?

Code: Select all

7--8--9
|\ | /|
| \|/ |
4--5--6
| /|\ |
|/ | \|
1--2--3

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2604
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by eradicator » Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:41 pm

+1

Moving the mouse while holding down shift while holding a blueprint moves the blueprint instead of the mouse. That way you can freely chose which part of the BP you want to see while placing.

A possibly easier-to-implement solution would be to simply allow selecting one of the entities in a BP as the "anchor entity", marked e.g. in red, by middle mouseclick in edit mode.
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1857
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by Jap2.0 » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:39 pm

Yes, I would suggest this being something in the bluepring editor, NOT a hotkey, because:
  • The numbers 1-5 are already used for the hotbar
  • It's not that intuitive, and might be confusing to new players
  • Then we can permanantly change it for large bluprints of our choice - if it was a hotkey it would probably either have to be pressed every time you place the blueprint or be on permanatly for all blueprints, neither of which I think would be a good solution
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

Cribbit
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by Cribbit » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:43 pm

Could be done with a GUI on the blueprint. Or a settings in options to default what corner your blueprint anchors at. I know personally I'd rather all my blueprints anchor bottom left corner.

JohnyDL
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 503
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by JohnyDL » Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:34 pm

Bottom left corner of the blueprint as it's printed or as you're holding it?

Cribbit
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by Cribbit » Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:39 am

JohnyDL wrote:Bottom left corner of the blueprint as it's printed or as you're holding it?
When I go to set a blueprint down I want the bottom left most ghost building under my cursor with the blueprint spanning up and right from there.

JohnyDL
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 503
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by JohnyDL » Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:27 am

Yeah I kind of thing that's the useful way to go, I know if you make blueprints 'by hand' rather than in-game you can (I've seen it done) make them use a different point to handle it but as you rotate it it rotates around your hand, which is super useful for expanding solar arrays where you want to be at one edge but there are multiple edges to consider, but not so useful adding to a bus or train network

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6167
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by bobingabout » Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:51 am

Does sound like a good idea (only read the title)
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by Bigfootmech » Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:04 am

Sounds good to me too. Though I hadn't thought about how to implement it.

eradicator
A possibly easier-to-implement solution would be to simply allow selecting one of the entities in a BP as the "anchor entity", marked e.g. in red, by middle mouseclick in edit mode.
JohnyDL
Num pad to set location? or set location in edit blueprint mode?
I will try both of these out at my earliest convenience, and get back to you guys

User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by Bigfootmech » Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:38 pm

It was easier than I thought.

Added a way to demonstrate the functionality in BPEdit 0.1.3

https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Bigfootmech/BPEdit

Currently, you must add a new element, to be able to "anchor", or "centre" to it.

In this particular vein, I want to add functionality to
- Be able to select anything without adding a new element to the blueprint beforehand, to set it as an anchor point
- Be able to use the keybindings to pick a "corner"/"side" of a blueprint to centre/anchor.

These don't necessarily need to be done in any order (after the work I've done already).

I think the first one would be more cumbersome to use, but faster to implement, so I'll just try to do a quickie of that in a branch.

wpirobotbuilder
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2017 2:53 am
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by wpirobotbuilder » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:11 pm

I would love an easier process for large blueprint placing. Unless you're placing a blueprint in the middle of an empty area, it's annoying to find all the entities that are blocking you from putting down a blueprint, and it's hard to line things up just right.

User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by Bigfootmech » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:22 pm

Well, that was fast/east

0.1.4 Added ability to "select" entity.

It's clunky, but it works.

You can now "select" any single entity on a blueprint (TAB), then hit CAPSLOCK to make it the anchor (blueprint placeable around it)

Next up: trying to tackle the corners issue

User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by Bigfootmech » Mon Oct 30, 2017 6:33 pm

version 0.1.5 posted

https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Bigfootm ... /downloads

You should now be able to use NUMPAD keys as well to do the same thing (move anchor point).

Try it out, and see which way you prefer guys.

I won't be adding mouse just yet, because I'm not handling GUI yet.

Will keep you updated here if/when I get around to it.

NOTE:
It's currently SLIGHTLY cludgy. I'm not using the blueprint EDGE, but the centre points of the most extreme elements. This might be a preferred functionality for some people, but it isn't as "universal" as I'd like it to be. So, look out for it changing at some point, when I can be bothered to fix collision boxes.

Angamara
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Changeable Anchor Points for Blueprints

Post by Angamara » Mon Oct 30, 2017 6:44 pm

Open Map, u can place BP from MAP view.

I never have a problem to ghost a BP with this solution.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Koub and 3 guests