[15.10] Same hotkeys assignment

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
User avatar
WimeSTone
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 7:55 pm
Contact:

[15.10] Same hotkeys assignment

Post by WimeSTone »

Brief:
It is possible to assign the same hotkey for "same context" actions. Just like this:

Image

As far as I could get from tests, de facto SHIFT+1 got assigned only for Quickbar 6.
When I had different items in slots, only 6th slot returned an item for SHIFT+1.

Technically, this is not a bug, as it is possible to have the same button for multiple actions, yet, it would be nice to perform check for hotkeys collisions and prompt user if such exist.
"You don't have enough iron, trust me." - Factorio Postulates, tome one.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 11885
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [15.10] Same hotkeys assignment

Post by Rseding91 »

We may change this in the future but right now it's valid to have the same hotkey bound to different actions depending on the action so there's no simple way to say that it's an error to do so.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Lav
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: [15.10] Same hotkeys assignment

Post by Lav »

I'd suggest to define contexts and map them to key-controlled game actions - then it's trivial to detect key assignment conflicts as two actions will have a shared context.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12172
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [15.10] Same hotkeys assignment

Post by ssilk »

Added to viewtopic.php?f=80&t=307 Gamepad/controller support (also keybinding)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”