Three things to change in Logistic network

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by Neotix »

1. In inserters we should be able to setup amount from 0 instead 1 like is right now. Currently we can't setup "> 0" and it's little problematic when we want to build and setup logic gates.

2. We should be able to setup amount exactly how we need. Right now it's impossible to setup for example 213 because we have fixed steps and nothing between them.

3. When we connect red and green wire to the inserter, it's working like AND gate. We should be able to choose between AND, NAND, OR, NOR, XOR, XNOR

Robbedem
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 9:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by Robbedem »

Technically you'ld only need AND, OR and NOT. NAND, NOR, XOR and XNOR can be made with the 3 basics already.

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by Neotix »

But you can't combine gates inside inserter, so you need all of them except NOT because you can alter condition.
I was thinking about something like:

Red wire: Iron plate > 1000
OR
Green wire: Steel plate < 100

User avatar
DerivePi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 504
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by DerivePi »

I'd like to add a request that the red and green wires be recovered/reusable when we rearrange them. Currently, when you remove a wire, you lose it. I believe this detracts from the game.

As an update, we can now, with the latest revision, input 0 or 213 into the argument side of the smart inserters. Thank you developers!

User avatar
DerivePi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 504
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by DerivePi »

Logic Gates with Factorio

Update: Revised gates to include A and B condition and cleaned up previous errors.
Attachments
FACTORIO-LOGIC GATES REVISED.gif
FACTORIO-LOGIC GATES REVISED.gif (40.52 KiB) Viewed 14663 times
Last edited by DerivePi on Thu Jul 17, 2014 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by Neotix »

Building gates in Factorio is easy but Smart inserter itself is working like AND gate.

User avatar
DerivePi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 504
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by DerivePi »

Neotix wrote:Building gates in Factorio is easy but Smart inserter itself is working like AND gate.
always assumed they worked as an OR gate. AND gate it is. Thanks

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11011
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by ssilk »

I added the above to the wiki.

See also some of the examples: https://forums.factorio.com/wiki/inde ... k#Examples
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by Neotix »

Also add info that if Smart inserter is connected to both networks (red and green) both condition have to be true (AND gate behavior).

User avatar
DerivePi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 504
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Three things to change in Logistic network

Post by DerivePi »

OK - made the corrections to my sketch above.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users