Train Station: Option to require stop

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
SilverB1rd
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:19 pm
Contact:

Train Station: Option to require stop

Post by SilverB1rd » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:55 pm

TD;DR;

Add checkbox to train station interface to require that train stops at the station in order to use the station for pathing.

Why:
To give the player exact control of how train's path finding interacts with stations. This increases the players choices for creating optimal rail networks.

Details:
Add one checkbox to the train station interface that controls if trains are allowed to path through the station, if they are not stopping at that station.
Default Value: Unchecked: maintains the current .14 behavior.

Example:
Current Behavior: Train will take the lower track, through the Bypass stop, when traveling between the left and right station.

Desired Behavior: When the Requires Stop checkbox is enabled at the Bypass station, the train will use the upper track when traveling between the left and right station.

Image

Could Use Work:
A better descriptive name for the checkbox, trying to keep it simple enough a novice would be able to understand what the checkbox controls.
Last edited by SilverB1rd on Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3979
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Post by Klonan » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:59 pm

There is already some pathfinding penalty for pathing through stations now in 0.15, so this issue should hopefully be solved

SilverB1rd
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Post by SilverB1rd » Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:04 pm

Klonan wrote:There is already some pathfinding penalty for pathing through stations now in 0.15, so this issue should hopefully be solved
That is basically how I would see this option working. although having the checkbox gives better control to the player, since an arbitrary penalty may not be enough to achieve the desired outcome. The check box would essentially force maximum penalty, the expected result for a train that must pass through the station without stopping would be a no path.

The mental workload for "most likely wont use" vs "will never use" increases with complexity of the system.
Last edited by SilverB1rd on Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SilverB1rd
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Post by SilverB1rd » Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:08 pm

Another possible name for the option would be "Disable Passthrough"

I've seen this idea mentioned a few times but I wanted to create suggestion specifically for this one item.

SilverB1rd
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Post by SilverB1rd » Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:27 pm

add missing "why" section.

mattj256
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Post by mattj256 » Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:15 am

It's already possible to use chain signals to make sure that a train doesn't enter a section of track unless it can also exit.
Can you give an example of when the train takes the wrong path?

SilverB1rd
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Post by SilverB1rd » Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:15 pm

mattj256 wrote:Can you give an example of when the train takes the wrong path?
The image in the OP shows a scenario where the trail will chose the path through the bypass station, because it is shorter, rather then the upper route which would be considered more desirable especially in more complex layouts.

Currently, depot layouts which require bi-directional trains are the only way to guaranty trains will not try to shortcut through the depot.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10645
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Post by ssilk » Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:20 am

Added to viewtopic.php?f=80&t=21899 Control Train Pathfinder (Passthru stations, Add Penalty)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users