Better Robot Notifications
Moderator: ickputzdirwech
- PeteTheLich
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 89
- Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 4:06 am
- Contact:
Better Robot Notifications
Instead of this gigantic flashing monstrosity
It'd be nice to have a "construction zone" drawn either the same box as the deconstruction planner or the 2 furthest items in a blueprint to draw a box
especially for large construction zones im sure it would be easier on the CPU than having to constantly draw 500 sprites overlapping and remove them
could also put a transparency slider in the options if the box is too obtrusive and just put a single robot marker
to take it one step further when you mouse over the zone it could read out what is being done there or missing
you could mouse over your outpost
"oh they need more repair packs"
"these robots are removing trees"
"construction additional solar panel arrays"
It'd be nice to have a "construction zone" drawn either the same box as the deconstruction planner or the 2 furthest items in a blueprint to draw a box
especially for large construction zones im sure it would be easier on the CPU than having to constantly draw 500 sprites overlapping and remove them
could also put a transparency slider in the options if the box is too obtrusive and just put a single robot marker
to take it one step further when you mouse over the zone it could read out what is being done there or missing
you could mouse over your outpost
"oh they need more repair packs"
"these robots are removing trees"
"construction additional solar panel arrays"
Re: Better Robot Notifications
Seems like a good idea.
I do mods. Modding wiki is friend, it teaches how to mod. Api docs is friend too...
I also update mods, some of them even work.
Recently I did a mod tutorial.
I also update mods, some of them even work.
Recently I did a mod tutorial.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
I like it.
Added to viewtopic.php?f=80&t=16566 Alerts, Alert-Info (Map), visible/audible Indication
Added to viewtopic.php?f=80&t=16566 Alerts, Alert-Info (Map), visible/audible Indication
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...
Re: Better Robot Notifications
The game has no concept of blueprints when it comes to showing an alert like that.
All the game knows is: there's a ghost within a logistic network range that doesn't have a robot available to build it (or what ever else the alert is) and so it shows an alert.
All the game knows is: there's a ghost within a logistic network range that doesn't have a robot available to build it (or what ever else the alert is) and so it shows an alert.
- It doesn't know about any other ghosts that may exist
- It doesn't have any idea what other alerts exist
- It doesn't know if there are other logistic networks that might be able to service the ghost
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
Well, that's insightful about game inner workings, but it doesn't make
go away.PeteTheLich wrote:gigantic flashing monstrosity
I do mods. Modding wiki is friend, it teaches how to mod. Api docs is friend too...
I also update mods, some of them even work.
Recently I did a mod tutorial.
I also update mods, some of them even work.
Recently I did a mod tutorial.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
One option would be to not draw overlapping triangles, and instead draw a counter on them that counts the amount of triangles not drawn +1.Adil wrote:Well, that's insightful about game inner workings, but it doesn't makego away.PeteTheLich wrote:gigantic flashing monstrosity
Re: Better Robot Notifications
A good practice.Xeanoa wrote:One option would be to not draw overlapping triangles, and instead draw a counter on them that counts the amount of triangles not drawn +1.Adil wrote:Well, that's insightful about game inner workings, but it doesn't makego away.PeteTheLich wrote:gigantic flashing monstrosity
I use that whenever I have to display positions on a map. Depending on zoom and pan it groups overlapping markers on the fly inside the map draw routines. It's a really cheap check if one marker overlaps with another and run a counter, and can even be run in a separate thread.
My Mods: mods.factorio.com
Re: Better Robot Notifications
It's not cheap at all. It's O(N^2) complexity to make sure that rendering alerts never overlap other alerts. More so if you want to account for the fact the alert icon is a triangle.Optera wrote:A good practice.
I use that whenever I have to display positions on a map. Depending on zoom and pan it groups overlapping markers on the fly inside the map draw routines. It's a really cheap check if one marker overlaps with another and run a counter, and can even be run in a separate thread.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
Not cheap? I drew several hundred pins in bing maps like this in "real time" (actual map update time was 1-5s or on user interaction): store bounding box, if bounding box overlaps counter of existing shape ++1 otherwise draw shape. For map visualization it's sufficient to use bounding boxes instead of actual shapes.Rseding91 wrote:It's not cheap at all. It's O(N^2) complexity to make sure that rendering alerts never overlap other alerts. More so if you want to account for the fact the alert icon is a triangle.Optera wrote:A good practice.
I use that whenever I have to display positions on a map. Depending on zoom and pan it groups overlapping markers on the fly inside the map draw routines. It's a really cheap check if one marker overlaps with another and run a counter, and can even be run in a separate thread.
My Mods: mods.factorio.com
Re: Better Robot Notifications
How could drawing a few alerts ever use enough processing time to worry about it? They're usually not present, usually done within a couple minutes, and don't need to be updated every tick.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
That's not cheap or fast at all... Right now it takes a fraction of a millisecond to draw all of the triangles at O(1) complexity.Optera wrote:Not cheap? I drew several hundred pins in bing maps like this in "real time" (actual map update time was 1-5s or on user interaction): store bounding box, if bounding box overlaps counter of existing shape ++1 otherwise draw shape. For map visualization it's sufficient to use bounding boxes instead of actual shapes.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
Because everything in the game has to scale. If it's "ok" with 100-200 alerts and then "complete garbage" when there's 1000-5000 that's unacceptable.Xeanoa wrote:How could drawing a few alerts ever use enough processing time to worry about it? They're usually not present, usually done within a couple minutes, and don't need to be updated every tick.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
Does that mean it will be possible to dispatch robots at a higer rate per tick than the current limit? If not, why worry about it?Rseding91 wrote:when there's 1000-5000 that's unacceptable.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
You can have alerts for multiple things going off at once. Missing robots, missing materials, multiple players and so on.Xeanoa wrote:Does that mean it will be possible to dispatch robots at a higer rate per tick than the current limit? If not, why worry about it?Rseding91 wrote:when there's 1000-5000 that's unacceptable.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
Then how about this: One alert per type per chunk. Since you already know which chunk the alert is on, it should be reasonably easy to group them up this way? Some overlapping is to be expected at lower zoom levels, but it's way better than what we have currently. You could even add zoom level breaking points at which you group 2x2 chunks or 3x3 chunks.Rseding91 wrote:You can have alerts for multiple things going off at once. Missing robots, missing materials, multiple players and so on.Xeanoa wrote:Does that mean it will be possible to dispatch robots at a higer rate per tick than the current limit? If not, why worry about it?Rseding91 wrote:when there's 1000-5000 that's unacceptable.
- aubergine18
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 1264
- Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 8:51 pm
- Contact:
Re: Better Robot Notifications
For on-map notifications the approach taken by Colossal Order's "Cities Skylines" game is worth consideration.
It limits number of same icons shown within a given area based on map zoom. Zoom all the way out and you might only see one icon for a particular type of notification within a map chunk. Zoom in more and there might be up to 4 icons of a given type per chunk (one per quadrant of the chunk).. zoomed all the way in you'd see all of them.
EDIT: Just realised this sort of thing already mentioned above. I need more sleep lol.
It limits number of same icons shown within a given area based on map zoom. Zoom all the way out and you might only see one icon for a particular type of notification within a map chunk. Zoom in more and there might be up to 4 icons of a given type per chunk (one per quadrant of the chunk).. zoomed all the way in you'd see all of them.
EDIT: Just realised this sort of thing already mentioned above. I need more sleep lol.
Better forum search for modders: Enclose your search term in quotes, eg. "font_color" or "custom-input" - it prevents the forum search from splitting on hypens and underscores, resulting in much more accurate results.
Re: Better Robot Notifications
To make this feature useful, it would be enough to show one alert per chunk (which is then also the smalles/biggest area).
It would make sense to show this alert symbol on the first place it finds and if there are others in the same chunk a number, how many.
It would make sense to show this alert symbol on the first place it finds and if there are others in the same chunk a number, how many.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...
- PeteTheLich
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 89
- Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 4:06 am
- Contact:
Re: Better Robot Notifications
So as a work around all I did was replace the robot sprite with a pixel square
(outlined in this reddit post)
https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comme ... ot_alerts/
Would it be possible to have it use a separate icon for the notification and whats drawn on the screen?
https://gfycat.com/GeneralBronzeCapybara
Since this looks substantially better than before with basically no change
(outlined in this reddit post)
https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comme ... ot_alerts/
Would it be possible to have it use a separate icon for the notification and whats drawn on the screen?
https://gfycat.com/GeneralBronzeCapybara
Since this looks substantially better than before with basically no change