New way for electricity

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

darius456
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

New way for electricity

Post by darius456 »

As a profession that I am an electrician, so I do not like the electricity system in the game. I would like to suggest some changes. I would suggest that the system of production and distribution of electricity was more similar to the real one. In real live, the power generating voltage is about 22kV (but not always) followed by a transformer voltage is transformed to a level suitable for transmission. In Poland we have a few basic voltage levels: 400,220,110 kV as high voltage, 15 and 6 kV as medium voltage and 230V as low voltage. I thing that in factorio also should be at least 3 different voltage levels for transfer energy and powering devices. For example low voltage level for inserters, lamps, medium voltage for assembly mk1 etc., ... higher tech level = higher voltage. Of course transformers should be also add to the game, with own power limit of course. Also each power line should have its own max power limit. This in not possible to push Giga Watts through one small line...

Just my thoughts DEVs no offense please.
Lenovo Y580 8GB Ram GF660m 128GB SSD W7

slay_mithos
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Re: New way for electricity

Post by slay_mithos »

While this would make it more realistic, it immediately reminds me of Minecraft mods and their 3 different approach to energy:
Do note that those are my feelings about these, I know a lot of people thinking completely differently about this.

IC2: Voltage based, adds a lot to realism, but not so easy to understand for new comers, and can bring "complexity" only to try and reflect realism.

BC: Different "cables" that have different max values, and resistance, a lot more user-friendly, but retains some realism with distance-based attenuation.