New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 651
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by factoriouzr »

It would be nice to drag and drop logistics slots to re-order their position. This is useful to keep a consistent order in items requested for organization and readability (especially with mods adding more slots). Without this feature to reorder would require removing and re-setting all logistics slots after the insertion point.

This is not a crucial feature, but a nice to have and goes along with general gui polish and improvement, more interactivity, and modern features like drag and drop.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12681
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by ssilk »

Hmm. I suggest an autosort for the slots instead - like the inventory. :)
I think this is much simpler implemented and doesn't bother the player to learn how to order slots.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 651
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by factoriouzr »

the only issue with an auto sort is that it's arbitrary and can't be customized. I want my belt and my underground and my inserter and my splitter and power pole beside each other on the toolbar, thought this is not as big of an issue with the requester slots so either would work but a drag and drop would be better. It's also standard in GUI design.

kaavik
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:16 pm
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by kaavik »

I have this problem too.

The issue is that a user typically adds items to Logistics slots as the need arises. As time progresses, the user has a lot of items specified but they are not in any useful order. If they auto-sorted using the same logic as standard Inventory, that would work well enough because users eventually learn / memorize the Inventory order. Alternately, a click/drag or manual-sort option could be useful but AT LEAST please enable the auto-sort - even just as a simple checkbox - so that people who want to use the "standard" inventory sort, can have a familiar ordering.

NOTE: The issue is exacerbated by the fact that the logistic request limits (which is a GREAT feature!!) overlay the icon and partially obscure the icons such that it is EVEN MORE DIFFICULT than it would already be to find the item you're looking for (e.g. to adjust number of concrete requested to build a new rocket silo).

I continue to play of course, but would enjoy the late game MUCH MORE if there was a way to auto-sort the same as Inventory view and/or manually [re]sort existing logistic requests.

kaavik
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:16 pm
Contact:

[0.18.34] Personal Logistics GUI does not sort properly

Post by kaavik »

TL;DR
Personal Logistics GUI does not sort properly in 0.18.34 (and earlier versions).
PROBLEM: Sorting does not work for Personal Logistics GUI
The issue is that once a user gets personal logistic slots, they typically add items to as the need arises and NEVER REMOVE THEM (and you can't list the same item twice). As the game progresses, the user continues adding item requests and has a lot of items specified but they are not in any useful order.

SOLUTION #1:
If they auto-sorted using the same logic as standard Inventory, that would work well enough because users eventually learn / memorize the "standard" order from Inventory GUI.

SOLUTION #2:
Allow users to click/drag or other method to manually sort via some means WITHOUT having to remove their current inventory settings. This might be accomplished using similar drag interface as used in Character GUI for weapons and/or equipment for Power Armor.
Why it matters
While arguably trivial, it adds time/delay to making adjustments to logistic requests (because if you already have a lot of logistic requests configured but can't find the request you need and the GUI doesn't allow you to re-add / replace it (which makes sense) so you have to keep searching for the original request to update it). The issue is further exacerbated by the fact that the logistic request limits overlay the icon (which is a GREAT feature!!) and partially obscure the icons such that it is EVEN MORE DIFFICULT than it would already be to find the item you're looking for (e.g. to adjust number of concrete requested to build a new rocket silo).

User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1759
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.18.34] Personal Logistics GUI does not sort properly

Post by boskid »

I do not remember ever seeing sorting logistic requests. Because of this it does not belong to "bug reports" but to "ideas and suggestions"

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12681
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by ssilk »

merged double post into same zombie post — ssilk
@kaavik: please do not double post to different boards.
@boskid: kaavik has found it. :)

Interesting: the OP is now 4 years old and still relevant.

kaavik wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:31 pm

NOTE: The issue is exacerbated by the fact that the logistic request limits (which is a GREAT feature!!) overlay the icon and partially obscure the icons such that it is EVEN MORE DIFFICULT than it would already be to find the item you're looking for (e.g. to adjust number of concrete requested to build a new rocket silo).
Ha! Now I had that, too. It’s indeed quite difficult to see the icons behind the numbers, I searched for over 30 seconds going several times through all slots and still didn’t see it.

Who has also had this kind of problem?
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Hellspawn
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by Hellspawn »

Hi I just wanne hope in a give that idea a big +1!

I play a Seablock A+B Game with a hell of a lot of items i wanne requesting/get ride of with the help of the logistic slots. I have almost 300 different slots in use and it´s really anoing to try to find the item you looking for to change its value.

Thank you!

Regards,

Hellspawn

foamy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:14 am
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by foamy »

I only found out a couple of days ago that there's a search function, which has been a life-saver, but the ability to reorganize my logistic request slots would be fantastic.

SmetDenis
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by SmetDenis »

Hey folks,

Well... Because since this request is stuck,
and looks like the game developers will not make the improvements, then we have to suffer in the later stages of the game.

Please, can somebody recommend a mod that can solve the issue?

Thanks in advance.

----

UPD. Btw, I've just found the pretty simple and nice mod - https://mods.factorio.com/mod/logistics_requests_sorted
It solves my issue. Anyway, I would prefer to see the native solution :)

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5112
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by mrvn »

Another annoyance that goes into the same direction: You search for something and don't find it. So you try to add it and the GUI won't let you. So now you have to search again. It's frustrating when you don't spot the item.

Why not activate the existing slot when the user tries to add a duplicate. Then he can just adjust the settings.

SoShootMe
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2020 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by SoShootMe »

mrvn wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 1:33 pm
Why not activate the existing slot when the user tries to add a duplicate. Then he can just adjust the settings.
Requests that already exist are distinguished by having a red background, giving an indication that clicking will open an existing request rather than create a new one, so I can't see why this wouldn't work well.

In this case the result of clicking to add a new request is very close to an alternate UI for logistic requests, though one that could easily be confused for the crafting tab if you don't have "Flat character GUI" enabled.

SmetDenis
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by SmetDenis »

mrvn wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 1:33 pm
Another annoyance that goes into the same direction: You search for something and don't find it. So you try to add it and the GUI won't let you. So now you have to search again. It's frustrating when you don't spot the item.

Why not activate the existing slot when the user tries to add a duplicate. Then he can just adjust the settings.
+100!!!
Yeah. I believe it awesome idea.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5112
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by mrvn »

SoShootMe wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 2:19 pm
mrvn wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 1:33 pm
Why not activate the existing slot when the user tries to add a duplicate. Then he can just adjust the settings.
Requests that already exist are distinguished by having a red background, giving an indication that clicking will open an existing request rather than create a new one, so I can't see why this wouldn't work well.
No, clicking an item with red background just beeps and says the item is already requested. That's the change I suggested. Clicking should just open the existing request for editing. That the item has a red background doesn't help me find it in the long list of request slots.

SoShootMe
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2020 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by SoShootMe »

mrvn wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 12:56 am
SoShootMe wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 2:19 pm
mrvn wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 1:33 pm
Why not activate the existing slot when the user tries to add a duplicate. Then he can just adjust the settings.
Requests that already exist are distinguished by having a red background, giving an indication that clicking will open an existing request rather than create a new one, so I can't see why this wouldn't work well.
No, clicking an item with red background just beeps and says the item is already requested.
Sorry, allow me to rephrase: I can't see why this wouldn't work well. One potential problem is that it could be confusing that clicking would open an existing request rather than create a new one, but this doesn't apply because items where a request already exists are distinguished by having a red background.

Kyralessa
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by Kyralessa »

mrvn wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 12:56 am
No, clicking an item with red background just beeps and says the item is already requested. That's the change I suggested. Clicking should just open the existing request for editing. That the item has a red background doesn't help me find it in the long list of request slots.
I agree, this makes sense. Ultimately it doesn't matter where in the list the request is, so long as I can see and edit it. Why not let me find it by clicking on the item and not just on the request?

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5112
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by mrvn »

SoShootMe wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:43 am
mrvn wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 12:56 am
SoShootMe wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 2:19 pm
mrvn wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 1:33 pm
Why not activate the existing slot when the user tries to add a duplicate. Then he can just adjust the settings.
Requests that already exist are distinguished by having a red background, giving an indication that clicking will open an existing request rather than create a new one, so I can't see why this wouldn't work well.
No, clicking an item with red background just beeps and says the item is already requested.
Sorry, allow me to rephrase: I can't see why this wouldn't work well. One potential problem is that it could be confusing that clicking would open an existing request rather than create a new one, but this doesn't apply because items where a request already exists are distinguished by having a red background.
Unless I'm remembering something wrong the only difference between an existing and new request is the values the request gets set to. So even if you forget all you get is a little surprise because the min/max values aren't what you might have expected.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12681
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by ssilk »

A) actually this “item already in a slot” is an extra suggestion.
Luckily it already exists:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=94178 change request location / 'a request for this item already exists' / Quick rearranging of the logistics config
I would recommend to continue discussions about this problem there.


B) this idea
Why not activate the existing slot when the user tries to add a duplicate. Then he can just adjust the settings.
is also an extra suggestion. I think it does not exist yet. If someone wants to add it: do it, but my opinion to that is mixed. It’s against the general UI convention, that if I click on a new slot or drag an item on a empty slot (generally speaking if I want to create something new), it should create a new slot. I would go with this, if it would be very clear where this slot is. But this doesn’t help, if you don’t see that; it would be irritating.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5112
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by mrvn »

ssilk wrote:
Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:00 am
B) this idea
Why not activate the existing slot when the user tries to add a duplicate. Then he can just adjust the settings.
is also an extra suggestion. I think it does not exist yet. If someone wants to add it: do it, but my opinion to that is mixed. It’s against the general UI convention, that if I click on a new slot or drag an item on a empty slot (generally speaking if I want to create something new), it should create a new slot. I would go with this, if it would be very clear where this slot is. But this doesn’t help, if you don’t see that; it would be irritating.
But do you really want to make a new slot? Or do you just want to get some underground steel pipes because the iron pipes you have aren't long enough. Do you care which slot the requested item has or that the item gets requested at all?

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12681
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: New Feature: Allow reordering logistics requester slots

Post by ssilk »

You cannot know, how I use the slots. You may solve a problem, where others have none. It’s just not how these things should be developed.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”