When clicking on a train that is at a train stop, and choosing to add stop, highlight the current stop

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
vicarion
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 1:46 am
Contact:

When clicking on a train that is at a train stop, and choosing to add stop, highlight the current stop

Post by vicarion »

TL;DR
When placing a new train at a train stop, you often want to include the current stop in the train schedule. Requesting a highlight or some other indication of the current stop the train is at in the list of stations.
What ?
The gui that lists train stops already shows stops in red text when they are not reachable, which is great. It would be helpful if the stop that train is currently at (if it is at one) was also highlighted or in a different color to indicate the special case.
Why ?
This would be a minor quality of life feature. It would also hopefully be very easy to implement though.

SoShootMe
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2020 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: When clicking on a train that is at a train stop, and choosing to add stop, highlight the current stop

Post by SoShootMe »

vicarion wrote:
Tue Nov 22, 2022 12:47 am
When placing a new train at a train stop, you often want to include the current stop in the train schedule. Requesting a highlight or some other indication of the current stop the train is at in the list of stations.
I agree with the premise of the suggestion and it sounds relatively simple, but I'm not sure there is much benefit to it. The map in the Locomotive window is initially centred on the locomotive, so the desired result can typically be achieved by shift-clicking near the centre of the map without needing any indication in the station list.

Also, I think a train in manual mode never has a "current stop" from the game's point of view, although that's not an insurmountable problem.

Tertius
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: When clicking on a train that is at a train stop, and choosing to add stop, highlight the current stop

Post by Tertius »

A train is not always "at the train stop" as you might think. From Factorio's point of view, a train is only at a train stop if it drove there according to schedule and is currently waiting on the waiting condition. If you change the train to manual, it is not at the train stop any more, although it is physically placed near the station. Or if the waiting condition has been met and the train is now trying to find the next destination, or it is waiting on a red signal to start moving, it is also not at the train stop any more, although it hasn't moved yet and it is still standing at the station.

So coloring the current train stop would be much less than you probably expect.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”