Something I find to be a disappointment at the moment is how basic rocket logistics controls are. In my case, I wanted to automate launching agricultural science of mixed qualities but found out it's simply not possible. Both the quality mechanic and agricultural science are new features that play really well together, so it would've made a lot of sense to use them together.
As of now, rockets can't simply be automated for mixed items because it's incapable of processing conditions such as:
- rocket full (regardless of different items or qualities)
- circuit conditions
- "any" quality logistic request
IMO granting more nuanced control over rocket silos would greatly improve the overall feel of interplanetary logistics. In this context, quality agricultural science feels like a missed opportunity unless you decide to make Gleba your home base for research, but any added flexibility would still be plenty useful for just general purposes.
Rocket launching would greatly benefit from finer and more flexible control options.
Moderator: ickputzdirwech
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 12:28 am
- Contact:
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:57 pm
- Contact:
Re: Rocket launching would greatly benefit from finer and more flexible control options.
YES PLEASE! I have the same issue with mixed quality science!
Re: Rocket launching would greatly benefit from finer and more flexible control options.
As a workaround for the "full cargo" you can set up an arithmetic combinator for each resource you plan on exporting/importing and divide it by it's stack size, then when X = (size of your cargo hold minus whatever static spaces you hold for other things and a buffer to prevent rockets from halting your rocket) then give the OK signal to launch. Yes, it's a bit tedious, but in lieu of a vanilla option, this can work.
I would love the ability to have multiple AND/OR sections. A "persistent" section would be nice so I don't have to repeat multiple conditions, like full fuel in each "or" section. Ex: If my rocket has 3,000 tungsten carbide, AND full fuel, leave. OR, if I have full tungsten plate AND full fuel, leave, OR. ...... you get the picture.. The above example partially solves this scenario, but like I said, it's tedious to have to do it for every ship that I want to reuse for multiple exports. Especially early on when I don't have the resources for 2+ ships per planet.
I would love the ability to have multiple AND/OR sections. A "persistent" section would be nice so I don't have to repeat multiple conditions, like full fuel in each "or" section. Ex: If my rocket has 3,000 tungsten carbide, AND full fuel, leave. OR, if I have full tungsten plate AND full fuel, leave, OR. ...... you get the picture.. The above example partially solves this scenario, but like I said, it's tedious to have to do it for every ship that I want to reuse for multiple exports. Especially early on when I don't have the resources for 2+ ships per planet.
Re: Rocket launching would greatly benefit from finer and more flexible control options.
I think I will make a more detailed post later, but it should really not be too much to ask, that the logistics system can fulfill a request we already have set up to fill a rocket perfectly. (if all items are available).
E.g. a rocket takes "A" and "B" rocket capacity 100 each, and we set a request for 80/20.
E.g. a rocket takes "A" and "B" rocket capacity 100 each, and we set a request for 80/20.
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:49 am
- Contact:
Re: Rocket launching would greatly benefit from finer and more flexible control options.
A very simple addition would go a long way:
* Rocket launches when you input Checkmark as a signal
* Rocket launches when you input Checkmark as a signal
Re: Rocket launching would greatly benefit from finer and more flexible control options.
This should work both ways. We also need a signal controlling the "unload" checkbox on the platform side.
Re: Rocket launching would greatly benefit from finer and more flexible control options.
This seems possible even now.
I just made two interrupts. One is planet=3,X=1 => planet(no unloading) 2s passed or X=0; the other is planet=3,X=0 => planet(yes unloading) 30s passed or X=1.
Depending on the value of X, one or the other interrupt will be active.
These were just test ones, so extra conditions will be needed to initiate their loop, and to exit it.