[2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Max Level
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2024 5:16 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by Max Level »

This is a workaround (parametrized blueprint). I was having the same issue with a dedicated science pack platform dropping constant pods with just a handful of science packs, hogging up the queue and causing a cascade of other delivery issues from other transport vessels. This also helps avoid ships getting stuck in orbit if you use an inactivity timer check for them to depart. (e.g. a ship dropping calcite, gets stuck because you're constantly using the calcite it's dropping, so it never leaves to get more, until it runs out).

Read the description because the maximum parameter is not actually your desired maximum. It's the difference between the input minimum, your desired max, and then made negative. I could have added another combinator to do this math for us, but this solution is more compact and only requires you to do a tiny bit of math, then make the number negative.

User avatar
BEEFE
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 1:13 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by BEEFE »

This isn't a gameplay problem per se but it is super distracting, I'd definitely like some kind of fix.

Relatedly, it'd be nice if manual cargo drops also waited for about a second, in case you misclick. My earliest platforms have a lot of stuff going into and out of the command center and stuff can wiggle around by as much as three places, making it possible to send the wrong thing by accident, and the pod leaps off the platform in a fraction of a second.
nimfo wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2024 12:21 pm if someone hasn't figured yet how to set up full cargo drops, this helped me
11-10-2024, 14-21-42.png
I'll try that, but it looks like it'll eventually reach equilibrium delivering a trickle of cargo if you produce faster than you consume?
splee
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by splee »

nimfo wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2024 12:21 pm if someone hasn't figured yet how to set up full cargo drops, this helped me
This is mostly the same solution as SYCLOPS and also still struggles if platform production exceeds the landing pad request. If there's more than 50 left the platform never clicks into the non-sending state.

I ended up settling for a simpler & nearly-but-not-quite equivalent:
schedulehacks.jpg
schedulehacks.jpg (37.08 KiB) Viewed 276 times
Andrei15193
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2024 9:42 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by Andrei15193 »

nimfo wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2024 12:21 pm if someone hasn't figured yet how to set up full cargo drops, this helped me
11-10-2024, 14-21-42.png
Genius! I went with interrupts instead, but it's the same idea.
11-29-2024, 23-49-05.png
11-29-2024, 23-49-05.png (101.06 KiB) Viewed 226 times
jaylawl
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2024 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by jaylawl »

I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.

This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.

Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.

Sopel
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:30 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by Sopel »

jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.

This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.

Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.

I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
jaylawl
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2024 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by jaylawl »

Sopel wrote: Mon Dec 02, 2024 1:01 pm
jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.

This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.

Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.

I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
The contents of the cargo landing pad are automatically part of the connected logistic system, so it can be read via roboport connection.
Sopel
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:30 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by Sopel »

jaylawl wrote: Mon Dec 02, 2024 3:31 pm
Sopel wrote: Mon Dec 02, 2024 1:01 pm
jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.

This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.

Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.

I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
The contents of the cargo landing pad are automatically part of the connected logistic system, so it can be read via roboport connection.
you're right, brilliant!
jaylawl
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2024 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by jaylawl »

Sopel wrote: Mon Dec 02, 2024 3:41 pm
jaylawl wrote: Mon Dec 02, 2024 3:31 pm
Sopel wrote: Mon Dec 02, 2024 1:01 pm
jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.

This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.

Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.

I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
The contents of the cargo landing pad are automatically part of the connected logistic system, so it can be read via roboport connection.
you're right, brilliant!
Would love to eventually hear back if that "system" of mine was helpful at all. Cheers!
Sopel
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:30 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform

Post by Sopel »

jaylawl wrote: Tue Dec 03, 2024 10:15 pm
Sopel wrote: Mon Dec 02, 2024 3:41 pm
jaylawl wrote: Mon Dec 02, 2024 3:31 pm
Sopel wrote: Mon Dec 02, 2024 1:01 pm
jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.

This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.

Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.

I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
The contents of the cargo landing pad are automatically part of the connected logistic system, so it can be read via roboport connection.
you're right, brilliant!
Would love to eventually hear back if that "system" of mine was helpful at all. Cheers!
It does work and has visibly reduced the amount of cargo pods. I was able to get rid of some hacky schedules and interrupts. Just one thing to note is that the way works it effectively balances the amount of items around half of what's specified, so that needs to be taken into account.
Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”