Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
User avatar
leadraven
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by leadraven » Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:39 am

Tunnels/Bridges will increase rail network throughput greatly. Too greatly. Rail network will become too powerful. Currently it has at least some limits, and also it is an awesome puzzle.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3125
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by mrvn » Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:50 am

leadraven wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:39 am
Tunnels/Bridges will increase rail network throughput greatly. Too greatly. Rail network will become too powerful. Currently it has at least some limits, and also it is an awesome puzzle.
Then don't use them.

The point isn't adding them to the game but to allow mods to add them.

Personally I don't see tunnels as solving all your rail problems. Tunnels should be expensive with a long entry and exit way. So if you have 2 busy rail lines crossing in the middle of nowhere you can tunnel one under the other. But inside your base there simply wouldn't be enough space for the entry and exit ways to make tunnels practical.

Tunnels would be something to use where you really need a tunnel. E.g. they could tunnel under a channel of water. Or actually be entries to underground mines. Which is what I want them for.

Tekky
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 988
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by Tekky » Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:24 pm

leadraven wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:39 am
Tunnels/Bridges will increase rail network throughput greatly. Too greatly. Rail network will become too powerful.
In my opinion, that is not an argument against tunnels, but rather an argument to make them very expensive to build (large amount of explosives).

I agree that the map should not be cluttered with tunnels. But being able to have a few tunnels in important positions would add to the gameplay.
Last edited by Tekky on Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Darinth
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by Darinth » Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:26 pm

mrvn wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:50 am
leadraven wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:39 am
Tunnels/Bridges will increase rail network throughput greatly. Too greatly. Rail network will become too powerful. Currently it has at least some limits, and also it is an awesome puzzle.
Then don't use them.

The point isn't adding them to the game but to allow mods to add them.

Personally I don't see tunnels as solving all your rail problems. Tunnels should be expensive with a long entry and exit way. So if you have 2 busy rail lines crossing in the middle of nowhere you can tunnel one under the other. But inside your base there simply wouldn't be enough space for the entry and exit ways to make tunnels practical.

Tunnels would be something to use where you really need a tunnel. E.g. they could tunnel under a channel of water. Or actually be entries to underground mines. Which is what I want them for.
When you initially made the comment "Then don't use them." I thought I was going to disagree. When you went on to say you're not interested in seeing them in vanilla, you just want the API available for train (and possible biter?) pathing between surfaces so mods can do this, it makes perfect sense. Honestly, I'm good either way. I don't think tunnels would be as ridiculously overpowered as some people seem to think. My only major hangups involve technical difficulty in implementation and thus development time.

bcwhite
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by bcwhite » Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:41 pm

Trains stopped underground are a problem but not a insurmountable one. I'd treat the underground section like a single chest. To remove it, everything in it has to go into your inventory before the section can be "mined".

If a train gets stuck, you can remove the underground section along with the train and all its contents (probably in parts, dumping the acquired inventory into nearby chests), then re-place it. That's a big PITA but not an unreasonable one if you're silly enough to let your trains run out of fuel.

Actually, get stuck in a tunnel while driving it manually seems a bigger problem. Does exiting the train exit the tunnel, too? Can you re-enter the underground train to continue driving it, or are you forced into destroying and re-building it?

Bridges would look good, too!

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3125
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by mrvn » Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:44 pm

bcwhite wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:41 pm
Trains stopped underground are a problem but not a insurmountable one. I'd treat the underground section like a single chest. To remove it, everything in it has to go into your inventory before the section can be "mined".

If a train gets stuck, you can remove the underground section along with the train and all its contents (probably in parts, dumping the acquired inventory into nearby chests), then re-place it. That's a big PITA but not an unreasonable one if you're silly enough to let your trains run out of fuel.

Actually, get stuck in a tunnel while driving it manually seems a bigger problem. Does exiting the train exit the tunnel, too? Can you re-enter the underground train to continue driving it, or are you forced into destroying and re-building it?

Bridges would look good, too!
Again not a problem with tunnels where the inside of the tunnel can just be another surface.

Tekillaa
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by Tekillaa » Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:16 pm

mrvn wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:44 pm
bcwhite wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:41 pm
Trains stopped underground are a problem but not a insurmountable one. I'd treat the underground section like a single chest. To remove it, everything in it has to go into your inventory before the section can be "mined".

If a train gets stuck, you can remove the underground section along with the train and all its contents (probably in parts, dumping the acquired inventory into nearby chests), then re-place it. That's a big PITA but not an unreasonable one if you're silly enough to let your trains run out of fuel.

Actually, get stuck in a tunnel while driving it manually seems a bigger problem. Does exiting the train exit the tunnel, too? Can you re-enter the underground train to continue driving it, or are you forced into destroying and re-building it?

Bridges would look good, too!
Again not a problem with tunnels where the inside of the tunnel can just be another surface.
Some little thing i dont understand in your argumentation.
You want :

1) tools for mod makin tunnel as you wish with another surface

or 2 ) have another surface available directly in vanilla version (no mob required)

because for 1) you can do/have/ask what you want, but im not sure it's the good place for the discussion (mod discussion probably) or 2) i tottally disagree with you, i don't want another surface in the game.

So can you precise what you exactly need for the "Vanilla game" without invovling mod?

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3125
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by mrvn » Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:04 pm

Tekillaa wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:16 pm
mrvn wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:44 pm
bcwhite wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:41 pm
Trains stopped underground are a problem but not a insurmountable one. I'd treat the underground section like a single chest. To remove it, everything in it has to go into your inventory before the section can be "mined".

If a train gets stuck, you can remove the underground section along with the train and all its contents (probably in parts, dumping the acquired inventory into nearby chests), then re-place it. That's a big PITA but not an unreasonable one if you're silly enough to let your trains run out of fuel.

Actually, get stuck in a tunnel while driving it manually seems a bigger problem. Does exiting the train exit the tunnel, too? Can you re-enter the underground train to continue driving it, or are you forced into destroying and re-building it?

Bridges would look good, too!
Again not a problem with tunnels where the inside of the tunnel can just be another surface.
Some little thing i dont understand in your argumentation.
You want :

1) tools for mod makin tunnel as you wish with another surface

or 2 ) have another surface available directly in vanilla version (no mob required)

because for 1) you can do/have/ask what you want, but im not sure it's the good place for the discussion (mod discussion probably) or 2) i tottally disagree with you, i don't want another surface in the game.

So can you precise what you exactly need for the "Vanilla game" without invovling mod?
What's needed is a special rail entity that gets paired with a second rail entity (usually on another surface) that allows trains to path through the pair of rails. Trains driving over those pairs of rails then teleport from one rail to the other as they pass.

At the moment the best a mod can do is have train stops at the tunnel entry and exit and have the user explicitly add them to the schedule of a train. Then pathing will go to the tunnel entry and the LUA script can teleport the train to the exit and have it continue there. Having to specify the tunnel explicitly is far from ideal and the entry being a train stop makes the train stop. Won't work with things like LTN.

SkiCarver
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by SkiCarver » Thu May 16, 2019 5:35 am

I would like to add my voice to the calls for a train tunnel/bridge, even if it is only long enough for one track to cross over it, as that would make the tunnel short enough that a carriage cannot be fully 'underground' and therefore all the normal train building/deconstruction rules will apply.
if the tunnel entrance/exit are 1x2 tiles, you can have a 1x2 entrance, a 2x2 tunnel(with rail crossing or whatever) and then a 1x2 exit. This would allow for rails crossing the usual track spacing for double tracks (4 tiles between tracks). I have included an image showing the carriage length compared to a 4x2 tunnel.
While I would like longer tunnels, I can see the logic causing issues.
The only thing to be careful of, is the the carriage must be visible within the squares of the tunnel (z-depth putting it above the black area of the tunnel tile, but below the grey area) to ensure it is selectable where multiple tunnels are placed in a row.
Attachments
Traintunnel.jpg.png
Traintunnel.jpg.png (4.01 MiB) Viewed 108 times

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3125
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by mrvn » Mon May 20, 2019 11:18 am

No, that would take away all the puzzle from making train crossings. The idea was to make train tunnels expensive and the entry and exits long to make using them the exception and not a total replacement for crossing tracks.

SkiCarver
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by SkiCarver » Mon May 20, 2019 11:29 am

mrvn wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 11:18 am
No, that would take away all the puzzle from making train crossings. The idea was to make train tunnels expensive and the entry and exits long to make using them the exception and not a total replacement for crossing tracks.
I agree that what you say is the ideal, but from reading the thread I am not convinced that the logic issues that arise from longer tunnels are so trivial that we will ever see long tunnels. If the choice is short tunnels or no tunnels, then my preference is short tunnels.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3125
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by mrvn » Mon May 20, 2019 12:43 pm

SkiCarver wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 11:29 am
mrvn wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 11:18 am
No, that would take away all the puzzle from making train crossings. The idea was to make train tunnels expensive and the entry and exits long to make using them the exception and not a total replacement for crossing tracks.
I agree that what you say is the ideal, but from reading the thread I am not convinced that the logic issues that arise from longer tunnels are so trivial that we will ever see long tunnels. If the choice is short tunnels or no tunnels, then my preference is short tunnels.
Oh, totally. The "long" part should be totally up to the mod to make. The magic rail tile that makes a tunnel (or teleport or cross surface jump) should be 2x2 like a normal straight rail.

SkiCarver
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: Tunnel or bridges for trains

Post by SkiCarver » Mon May 20, 2019 12:51 pm

mrvn wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 12:43 pm
SkiCarver wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 11:29 am
mrvn wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 11:18 am
No, that would take away all the puzzle from making train crossings. The idea was to make train tunnels expensive and the entry and exits long to make using them the exception and not a total replacement for crossing tracks.
I agree that what you say is the ideal, but from reading the thread I am not convinced that the logic issues that arise from longer tunnels are so trivial that we will ever see long tunnels. If the choice is short tunnels or no tunnels, then my preference is short tunnels.
Oh, totally. The "long" part should be totally up to the mod to make. The magic rail tile that makes a tunnel (or teleport or cross surface jump) should be 2x2 like a normal straight rail.
I would be happy with a 2x2 tunnel entrance/exit, as long as the carriage is visible so it negates the logic issues raised.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]