[Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Arrange meetings with other people to play MP, announce your servers.
User avatar
darkrising
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 7:32 pm
Contact:

[Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by darkrising » Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:27 am

I was just experimenting with factorio over a ssh tunnel (better than hamachi) and it actually works quite well. However I was wondering if anyone got factorio to work on a server without a graphics card or over vnc, all I get is a "failed to create display" error.

It's probably too soon for any dedicated servers but I was just curious.
Check out my gaming community, we hope to one day host Factorio servers! http://www.darkserver.co.uk
Also check out my mod: Alien Science https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... =14&t=3373

icecube45
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:36 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by icecube45 » Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:38 am

I've been doing the same thing..
I've yet to get it to work via vnc,
the only thing I can think of as a semi-solution is to use x-fowarding..

slpwnd
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1837
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by slpwnd » Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:32 am

This is an interesting idea (to allow factorio run in a "console mode" without graphics). Together with couple of other tweaks (starting MP game without a player) it would make dedicated servers perfectly possible.

User avatar
PalllaX
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:16 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by PalllaX » Mon Nov 03, 2014 9:47 am

This would be really cool!
In case someone tried following I can tell:
- you have an Ubuntu Server 14 running.
- you downloaded factorio 11.1 and extracted it (e.g. /home/user/Download)
- now you want to open factorio - didn't work via console
- you install gnome and stuff only for factorio <3
- you try TightVNC: From Windows to Ubuntu Server (because Teamviewer telling you "connection error"...)
- if you try double click on factorio executable nothing happens
- you are willing to install Mint to be for sure happy...
BUT you can just
- forget SSH / VNC and find a monitor + keyboard + mouse and put it in your ubuntu server system
- double click factorio and be happy :)

(My spec: Shuttle X36V4 - 4GB RAM - 64GB SSD - Intel Celeron J1900)
Last edited by PalllaX on Mon Nov 03, 2014 9:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PalllaX
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:16 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by PalllaX » Mon Nov 03, 2014 9:48 am

icecube45 wrote:I've been doing the same thing..
I've yet to get it to work via vnc,
the only thing I can think of as a semi-solution is to use x-fowarding..
oh, you get it to work with VNC? What program / setup did you use?

icecube45
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:36 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by icecube45 » Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:16 pm

PalllaX wrote:
icecube45 wrote:I've been doing the same thing..
I've yet to get it to work via vnc,
the only thing I can think of as a semi-solution is to use x-fowarding..
oh, you get it to work with VNC? What program / setup did you use?
"I've yet to get it to work via vnc"

No, I havn't.

I found a semi solution, using xfowarding to run the game, however, this does not allow for 24/7 servers

Kirk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by Kirk » Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:29 pm

sfto XD

Isn't there some kind of "display sink" you can use? Having an extra lifeless player doesn't really matter, I reckon. He might be in the way though.

User avatar
darkrising
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 7:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by darkrising » Mon Nov 03, 2014 9:06 pm

Kirk wrote:sfto XD

Isn't there some kind of "display sink" you can use? Having an extra lifeless player doesn't really matter, I reckon. He might be in the way though.
Build a wall around him, it'll be fine :P

But yeah, we need a dedicated server asap :D
Check out my gaming community, we hope to one day host Factorio servers! http://www.darkserver.co.uk
Also check out my mod: Alien Science https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... =14&t=3373

zekesonxx
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:50 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by zekesonxx » Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:53 am

You could use Xvfb or Xdummy and have Factorio run on that, making it eat the game rendering. Granted this would also prevent you from seeing the UI.

icecube45
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:36 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by icecube45 » Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:04 am

zekesonxx wrote:You could use Xvfb or Xdummy and have Factorio run on that, making it eat the game rendering. Granted this would also prevent you from seeing the UI.
Totally forgot about xdummy!
Trying it out now

I've got it working

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2757
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by DaveMcW » Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:40 am

slpwnd wrote:This is an interesting idea (to allow factorio run in a "console mode" without graphics). Together with couple of other tweaks (starting MP game without a player) it would make dedicated servers perfectly possible.
The next step is to remove the peer-to-peer connections, so an unstable user can play without slowing everyone else down. :D

icecube45
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:36 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by icecube45 » Wed Nov 05, 2014 5:20 am

So!

I've gotten a "dedicated" server to work

Stress testing it with the help of the irc channel

User avatar
PalllaX
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:16 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by PalllaX » Wed Nov 05, 2014 8:33 am

icecube45 wrote:So!

I've gotten a "dedicated" server to work

Stress testing it with the help of the irc channel
Cool! How is it going?

Cre8torzn
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by Cre8torzn » Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:36 am

Awesome!! I am keen to hear how this goes!!

Kirk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by Kirk » Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:37 am

By the way, you can move the lifeless player with belts if he's in the way XD

Also a fun activity with AFK players. You could kill them so they lose their inventory, belt them into the middle of nowhere, and then build a maze around them.

icecube45
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:36 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by icecube45 » Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:49 pm

PalllaX wrote:
Cool! How is it going?
Cre8torzn wrote:Awesome!! I am keen to hear how this goes!!
It's been running all night, and only crashed a few times due to players joining at the same time

JamesOFarrell
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by JamesOFarrell » Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:29 pm

icecube45 wrote:only crashed a few times due to players joining at the same time
I think disco mode has to take some credit for crashing the server.

icecube45
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:36 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by icecube45 » Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:51 pm

JamesOFarrell wrote:
icecube45 wrote:only crashed a few times due to players joining at the same time
I think disco mode has to take some credit for crashing the server.
Oh yes.. disco mode.

James used it to experiment with save game embedded modding

User avatar
PalllaX
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:16 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by PalllaX » Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:22 am

So, can you tell us how to setup a dedicated server? Would be great. Or does someone know when the next update is coming?

icecube45
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:36 am
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Headless server / vnc (Maybe too soon?)

Post by icecube45 » Thu Nov 06, 2014 7:10 am

PalllaX wrote:So, can you tell us how to setup a dedicated server? Would be great. Or does someone know when the next update is coming?

I'm hoping to make a guide in a bit

James says he'll try to make me an embedded mod first, that will pause entities when no one is connected.

Then I'll release the guide

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users