[0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Some mods, made by Bob. Basically streaks every Factroio-area.

Moderator: bobingabout

AndrolGenhald
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by AndrolGenhald »

I've always wanted some sort of "trunk" module that would increase the inventory size of the vehicle.

ukezi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 11:02 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by ukezi »

real cool would be that instead of building the car/tank/... we build a frame that can't do anything but has a large grid for car equipment. there we can put amour plates for hp, electric engines for speed, a trunk for inventory, and weapon mounds. and maybe special things like not slowing down when we hit trees and maybe putting them in the inventory instead of destroy them.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

doxsroxs wrote:Didnt find a proper thread for the research progress saver so I figure Ill just post it here.
Newest version of Factorio and got this message after a tech seem to be stuck close to completion for a while.
I started a new tech and then started the old one that was stuck, thats when I got this:

http://i.imgur.com/kiNHD7h.png
Thanks for the report... I hate bugs.

I'll look into it.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

AndrolGenhald wrote:I've always wanted some sort of "trunk" module that would increase the inventory size of the vehicle.
Currently not supported... but in the thread where they asked for ideas for new module capabillities, I did sugest this.
ukezi wrote:real cool would be that instead of building the car/tank/... we build a frame that can't do anything but has a large grid for car equipment. there we can put amour plates for hp, electric engines for speed, a trunk for inventory, and weapon mounds. and maybe special things like not slowing down when we hit trees and maybe putting them in the inventory instead of destroy them.
Again... you can only really do what they give you the abillity to do... The electric engine idea for speed is possible, though pretty much everything else isn't. (though the slowdown for trees is directly proportional to how much impact damage you cause, if you significantly overdamage the tree when you hit it, then the slowdown as minimal)
bobingabout wrote:
Thanks for the report... I hate bugs.

I'll look into it.

Code: Select all

    if global.techsave.force[event.research.force.name] and global.techsave.force[event.research.force.name].research_progress[event.research.name] then
      event.research.force.research_progress = global.techsave.force[event.research.force.name].research_progress[event.research.name]
    end
This is the code that errors.
According to your image... your research progress is 250%+
... what?

I mean, I can add in a check to make sure I never set it beyond 100%, thus preventing the bug... but this is actually the result of a base game bug!
(The value being restored is basically the EXACT value that was saved, therefore to restore 250%, it had to research to 250% in the first place, here's the function below)

Code: Select all

function bobmods.techsave.on_tick(event)
  for index, force in pairs(game.forces) do
    if force.current_research ~= nil then
      if global.techsave.force[force.name] then
        global.techsave.force[force.name].research_progress[force.current_research.name] = force.research_progress
      else
        bobmods.techsave.create_force(force)
      end
    end
  end
end
Perhaps you can report this bug in the official bug reporting subforum too? (About the 250% progress thing, and it not completing, they'll want a savegame with your research beyond 100% if you still have a copy.)
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

pieppiep
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by pieppiep »

Automatically cutting down trees when riding in a car may be possible.
I know FARL can do it with a train.

afk2minute
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by afk2minute »

Hello, is there a possibility of some new robo modules, for example interface that can add liquid value in a tank to a logistic network? (is it even possible to add such thing to a loginet?)

kocur4d
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by kocur4d »

Hi Bob. Is there any way to extract recipes information from your mods? Do you maybe have a json like file with all that data on the side?

For example I would like to know where Basic circuit board is used and make some breakdown of its ingredients.

I can look it up in a lua files but this is factorio and I would like to automate it.

I have seen some scripts you can run in game console but that would export all the stuff from the game including other mods modifications.

Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1828
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Nexela »

either use this program
https://bitbucket.org/Nicksaurus/foreman

or possibly factorio.rotol.me

or add this file to any mod
data-final-fixes.lua

Code: Select all

log(serpent.block(data.raw.recipe))
And all recipes will be dumped to factorio_current log file

[EDIT] Corrected spellings
Last edited by Nexela on Sat Sep 03, 2016 6:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by orzelek »

For the research problem:
1. Game bug is one thing for sure - should be reported.
2. You could get this if you changed your mods and cost of given technology has changed.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

orzelek wrote:2. You could get this if you changed your mods and cost of given technology has changed.
Considering the current progress bar is stored only as a percentage complete... you shouldn't. but that might just be how it gets reported to the player, and internally, you could be correct.

I'm fixing it now anyway, if it detects progress to be higher than 100%, it will set it to 100%.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

kocur4d
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by kocur4d »

or add this file to any mod
data_final_fixes.lua

CODE: SELECT ALL
log(serpent.block(data.raw.recipes))


And all recipes will be dumped to factorio_current log file
Nice one Thank You. It worked. Just few things file name is data-final-fixes.lua and the method is recipe.

Walayimuna
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Walayimuna »

Would it be possible to create wider chests? like 2x2 chests, or 3x3 chests?

AndrolGenhald
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by AndrolGenhald »

Walayimuna wrote:Would it be possible to create wider chests? like 2x2 chests, or 3x3 chests?
Check out the warehousing mod.

Walayimuna
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Walayimuna »

AndrolGenhald wrote:
Walayimuna wrote:Would it be possible to create wider chests? like 2x2 chests, or 3x3 chests?
Check out the warehousing mod.
I appreciate your sugestion, but my desire is to create a template of ore extractors where multiple electric mines would deposit the ore at the same chest wihtout the need of transport belts

CMH
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 3:02 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by CMH »

I believe the warehousing mod is exactly what you're looking for as well.

Allows 3x3 chests and 6x6 chests.

I don't see why bobingabout should write another mod where there's another well-known one available that does the same thing.

afk2minute
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by afk2minute »

use cargo wagon for it?

Walayimuna
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Walayimuna »

I would like to thank the people that made the mod sugestions, I apologise for not taking a more profound observation of the warehouse mod before stating that it would not attend to my desires.

Walayimuna
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Walayimuna »

bobingabout wrote:Although I did mention it in my first post, the topic was kind of ignored due to bug reports... but...

I added equipment grids to Tanks and Trains.

Currently, you can't put any equipment in (Because I didn't allow armor equipment to be used, and I haven't added any new equipment yet).

Any suggestions? opinions?
I have two sugestions regarding vehicles.

I find the game missing a utility vehicle, my desire would be a vehicle with the following attributes:
Ability to mine ore.
Large cargo capacity.
Roboport with increased range over personal roboport.

This vehicle would have speed and resistance between the existing vehicles, it would have more resistance and slower than the car, yet faster and less resistant than the tank. It would be something resembling military logistic vehicles like the U.S. Army Buffalo MPRC or the U.K. Army Mastiff or Wolfhound


I also would like defensive train wagons, armed with turrets, so instead of having to place several turrets around a base, one could build a circular railroad around the base, the railroad would have trains with these defensive wagons, so the entire base could be defended with these trains.

Iorek
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Iorek »

How do I use trains Equipment grid?

I have stock game 14.4 and just bobs mods 14.x

and I can't find anything that goes in trains Equipment grid
8x2 on normal trains 8x4 on mk3 10x4 on armored!!

I tried shields, engines... what goes in?

I tried googling, what do you put in trains bobs mods... no joy

also logistics while moving? is this just for the player?

Players gear does seem to fit in... reactors shields etc... but its all red slashed lines, can't actually drop it

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

Iorek wrote:How do I use trains Equipment grid?

I have stock game 14.4 and just bobs mods 14.x

and I can't find anything that goes in trains Equipment grid
8x2 on normal trains 8x4 on mk3 10x4 on armored!!

I tried shields, engines... what goes in?

I tried googling, what do you put in trains bobs mods... no joy

also logistics while moving? is this just for the player?

Players gear does seem to fit in... reactors shields etc... but its all red slashed lines, can't actually drop it
If you read back in this topic, I've been asking for opinions on what I should make for the equipment grid.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Post Reply

Return to “Bob's mods”