[0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Some mods, made by Bob. Basically streaks every Factroio-area.

Moderator: bobingabout

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by binbinhfr »

Hi bob,

there was a recent change in the API, where crafting and mining category can now be nil (but not empty anymore) to prevent any crafting.
My Drones mod was/is using this and had to do this change. viewtopic.php?f=11&t=31588

But then a player reported a problem with your bob library making an error. viewtopic.php?f=93&t=25026&p=201946#p201918

Infact, there is just a need of a check of crafting_categories existence in category-functions.lua :

Code: Select all

function bobmods.lib.machine.has_category(machine, category_in)
  local hasit = false
  if machine then
>>>	if machine.crafting_categories then
		for i, category in pairs(machine.crafting_categories) do
		  if category == category_in then
			hasit = true
		  end
		end
>>>	end
  else
    log(machine .. " does not exist.")
  end
  return hasit
end
could you add this and release an update ?

Thx.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

Is this a 0.13 change too, or just a 0.14 change?
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.
User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by binbinhfr »

bobingabout wrote:Is this a 0.13 change too, or just a 0.14 change?
it's a 0.14 change, but it won't hurt if you add this test in 0.13 either...
it's just that now categories can be non-defined, so it's better if you test existence of the array before reading the array.
please let me know when you update, so that I can delete the temporary patch I added to my Drones mod, that makes it work differently than how it should.
Last edited by binbinhfr on Sat Sep 03, 2016 7:56 am, edited 2 times in total.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:
OzHawkeye
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 12:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by OzHawkeye »

I don't know if I've made a post like this before, I think I might have, but anyway.

I'm returning to Factorio after a break, and loading up a new Bob's Mods game - and I just have to say, thank you Bob!

These mods take an already fantastic game and just make it even better in every respect. THANK YOU BOB! :-)
sumofallwars
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by sumofallwars »

Hey bob, Having a blast with the mod already 12 hours in and just got to oil.

Having a problem getting barrels to fill with an assembly machine. After researching barreling, bob's fluids tool tip does not show inside the tier 2 assembly machine. It shows just fine in when pressing 'e' but nothing when trying to select the recipe inside the machine.

I tried upgrading to .14 and upgrading all of my mods as well but that seems to have had no effect.

Here is a list of the mods I am using, but i am fairly certain it is bob's Metals,chemicals and intermediates mod, that is the culprit.

Aircraft 1.07
Big_Brother 0.3.2
Electric furnaces 2.0.0
Equalizer_CHests 1.2.1
EvoGui 0.4.107
Explosive Termites 1.1.8
FARL 0.5.3.7
FLOW Control 2.1.0
Fluid Void 1.0.3
Foreman 0.2.5
Orbital Ion Cannon 1.4.3
Satelite uplink station 1.0.1
Void CHest instant 1.0.1
ware housing 0.0.10
Air-Filtering 0.4.0
Auto fill 1.4.3
Base 13.20
Bobconfig 0.13.1
Bob electroings 0.13.1
bob electroings_GFTtweak 0.13.0
Bob Enmies 0.13.1
Bob greenhouse 0.13.2
Bob inserters 0.13.3
bob library 0.13.1
bob logistics 0.13.1
bob mining 0.13.1
bob modules 0.13.0
bobores 0.13.0
bob plates 0.13.2
bob power 0.13.1
bob revamp 0.13.0
bob tech 0.13.0
bob tech save 0.13.0
bob warfare0.13.4
mocombat 0.60
mo trains 0.2.1
rso-mod 2.0.16


Any suggestions would be appreciated, I am kind of reluctant to give up my 12+ hrs of work on this map. Thanks!
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

sumofallwars wrote:Having a problem getting barrels to fill with an assembly machine. After researching barreling, bob's fluids tool tip does not show inside the tier 2 assembly machine. It shows just fine in when pressing 'e' but nothing when trying to select the recipe inside the machine.
Because it's not a recipe for the Assembling machine, it's a recipe for the water pump.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.
sumofallwars
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by sumofallwars »

I feel dumb, I had been trying to figure this out for hours! Water pump might not be the best name though.

Thanks for the help!
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

sumofallwars wrote:I feel dumb, I had been trying to figure this out for hours! Water pump might not be the best name though.

Thanks for the help!
Internally, it is named "water-bore", because the original intention for the entity was to mine for fluids. but yes, it needs a new name. like "Barrelling pump"?
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.
Chrysom
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Chrysom »

Hi,

I have really been enjoying this mod but I have run into a wall. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to make Lithium Cobalt Oxide for the LI Batteries. The recipe does not show up in any of my chemical or metal combining furnaces. I have fully researched batteries and advanced materials processing. Any help or a way to add this recipe so I can make LI batteries would be very much appreciated.


Thanks
Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1828
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Nexela »

I believe it is called Advanced Copper processing with cobalt oxide (or something like that) and shows up after researching cobalt processing

It should show up if you search for copper in the crafting menu Also it requires electric version of i think the chemical furnace
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

Lithium cobalt oxide is made from Lithium and Cobalt oxide (see cobalt oxide in previous post), in a chemical furnace (or multi-purpose furnace).
The recipe itself is unlocked with the battery 2 research.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.
User avatar
Blaster
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Blaster »

How does one load a rail tanker?
Chrysom
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Chrysom »

Ok, that's what I thought. The recipe is not showing up when I click on either of the correct furnaces and I have completed all the necessary research. However, It does show up on the menu to request items from my logistics network. Here is a screen shot.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 1.25.54 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 1.25.54 PM.png (3.31 MiB) Viewed 6148 times
Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1828
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Nexela »

I think these are the 4 things you need, not 100% sure as my icons are modded :) but they look familiar

just use the maginfying glass and search for cobalt and lithium
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 1.25.54 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 1.25.54 PM.png (735.98 KiB) Viewed 6144 times
Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1828
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Nexela »

Blaster wrote:How does one load a rail tanker?

You need to use a regular pump connected directly to the middle of the rail tanker. (2 spots on each side of the tanker for up to 4 pumps total, you don't need all 4 just having 1 in any of the spots will fill it)
Attachments
tanker.png
tanker.png (346.59 KiB) Viewed 6144 times
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

Blaster wrote:How does one load a rail tanker?
Rail tankers aren't part of my mod...
Nexela answered your question anyway.
Nexela wrote:I think these are the 4 things you need, not 100% sure as my icons are modded :) but they look familiar

just use the maginfying glass and search for cobalt and lithium
None of the ones you have highlighted are actually the Lithium Cobalt oxide, which is what he's looking for.

I had to load an older version of the mod, because all my icons are different, and indeed it is missing off that list.



According to everything I'm looking at on my end, once you research Battery 2, you should have access to the material.

My guess is that if you have other mods installed that aren't mine, it is possible that it is also adding battery 2, and removing the unlocks you need. And by the looks of things there, you have some sort of chemistry mod installed. (There's a radiation looking category there anyway)

you can force unlock the recipe like this:

Code: Select all

/c for index, force in pairs(game.forces) do force.recipes["lithium-cobalt-oxide"].enabled = true end
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.
Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1828
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Nexela »

Well that's what I get for trying to go by my faulty memory. I should have just loaded it without graphics mods :)
Chrysom
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Chrysom »

[quote="bobingabout"][/quote]

Code: Select all

/c for index, force in pairs(game.forces) do force.recipes["lithium-cobalt-oxide"].enabled = true end
That worked! :D You are truly a gentleman and scholar. Keep up the good work.
User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by binbinhfr »

Hi bob,

thx for the correction, but alas there is still a problem :

Code: Select all

function bobmods.lib.machine.has_category(machine, category_in)
  local hasit = false
  if machine and machine.crafting_categories then
    for i, category in pairs(machine.crafting_categories) do
      if category == category_in then
        hasit = true
      end
    end
  else
    log(machine .. " does not exist.")
  end
  return hasit
end
if machine is nil, the line log(machine .. " does not exist.")
creates an error...
that's what happen when a mod (like my Drones) creates a "player" type with no crafting_categories and no mining_categories (that's the new way to prevent a character from crafting since 0.14).
You can test it by installing my mod (last version), then comment lines 15-16 of drones.lua, and you will see the error in bob library.
But I still do not understand why my "player" type creation triggers your bobmods.lib.machine.has_category function...
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout »

binbinhfr wrote:But I still do not understand why my "player" type creation triggers your bobmods.lib.machine.has_category function...
I think one or more of my mods use this function to scan if assembling machines AND the player has a certain category, and if it does, adds another to the list.
Possibly my electronic hand craftables category.

And those error checks are a pain, they're not very "Safe" and often cause crashes. Maybe I'm just doing it wrong. Though, machine should never be nil anyway, if it is you're using the call wrong. Though, if the issue is that the machine has no crafting categories, that shouldn't effect the log line.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.
Post Reply

Return to “Bob's mods”