If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Anything related to the content on our wiki (https://wiki.factorio.com/)

Moderator: Bilka

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10393
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by ssilk » Sun Oct 04, 2015 11:28 pm

Script: That is the plan. :)

If this still happens Monday morning (EST) can you give me a hint, or just make a bug report in the bugs-board yourself?
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

emailformygames
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 4:56 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by emailformygames » Mon Oct 12, 2015 4:22 pm

I'd like to help out on the wiki, but when I try to login it comes up with this
Image
and then when I try to request an account instead the website gives me this error:
Image

User avatar
Gergith
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:35 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Gergith » Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:11 am

emailformygames wrote:I'd like to help out on the wiki, but when I try to login it comes up with this
Image
and then when I try to request an account instead the website gives me this error:
Image
I'm having this issue as well tonight!
Currently using: Latest Steam build
Plugins: Bob's Mods|DyTech|Yuoki Industries|5Dim's Mod|Mineable Rock|AutoTrash|Advanced Logistics System|Landfill|Long Reach|Upgrade Planner
For Testing: Test Mode

Plus my own: Coordinates mod

Zeblote
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:55 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Zeblote » Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:59 pm

I tried to sign up earlier but got the same database error as above.

I'm not entering my real name, a CV or whatever, what's up with this?

User avatar
Gergith
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:35 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Gergith » Sat Oct 17, 2015 6:43 am

Too update this post:

Looks like things have been updated/fixed!

https://forums.factorio.com/wiki/inde ... estAccount
Currently using: Latest Steam build
Plugins: Bob's Mods|DyTech|Yuoki Industries|5Dim's Mod|Mineable Rock|AutoTrash|Advanced Logistics System|Landfill|Long Reach|Upgrade Planner
For Testing: Test Mode

Plus my own: Coordinates mod

The Lone Wolfling
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:33 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by The Lone Wolfling » Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:47 pm

For the record, this is why I haven't contributed to the wiki. Personally, I do not see why I should have to publish personal information for the privilege of spending my time helping a for-profit company.

Zeblote
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:55 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Zeblote » Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:49 pm

Looks like the bs has been fixed. Now the form just wants your email.

The Lone Wolfling
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:33 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by The Lone Wolfling » Sat Oct 17, 2015 2:19 pm

Zeblote wrote:Looks like the bs has been fixed. Now the form just wants your email.
So the personal biography section is optional, then? If so, it should be explicit about it.

Zeblote
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:55 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Zeblote » Sat Oct 17, 2015 2:31 pm

The Lone Wolfling wrote:
Zeblote wrote:Looks like the bs has been fixed. Now the form just wants your email.
So the personal biography section is optional, then? If so, it should be explicit about it.
I just put "User pages are a thing that exists? :o"

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10393
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by ssilk » Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:22 pm

:D


That information is quite optional. In my opinion the things you work on the wiki reveal much more about you, than any personal page.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Joefesok
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:55 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Joefesok » Fri Mar 11, 2016 5:20 pm

Hey, I applied on the wiki about a day ago.

To expand on my application, I want to help with fixing grammatical errors and fill out any data I can. Right now the wiki's in a kind of poor state due to the broadness of the data implemented so I'd like to help fix that.

Darkheart069
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:10 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Darkheart069 » Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:28 pm

Hi there,
I would like to recommend that under the commands section on the wiki you add these to the bottom-

First 2 set game to peacefull and kill enermys

Code: Select all

/c game.peaceful_mode = true
/c game.forces["enemy"].kill_all_units()
next 2 cause biters to repawn where they may have all been removed- "Repace spawner base's"

Code: Select all

/c game.regenerate_entity("biter-spawner")
/c game.regenerate_entity("spitter-spawner")
=== Please turn off peacefull and kill all units agine to see change in spawners ===

If you want to regenerate any ores modded or otherwise.
-------------STOCK-ORES----------------------

Code: Select all

/c game.regenerate_entity("iron-ore")
/c game.regenerate_entity("copper-ore")
/c game.regenerate_entity("coal")
/c game.regenerate_entity("stone")
-------------MODDED-ORES---------------------
Some of these are used in 5dim and Bobsores
tho should work for any ore type!

Code: Select all

/c game.regenerate_entity("zinc-ore")
/c game.regenerate_entity("tin-ore")
/c game.regenerate_entity("bauxite-ore")
/c game.regenerate_entity("gold-ore")
/c game.regenerate_entity("lead-ore")
---------------------------------------------------

I requested an account on the wiki so i could add this directly however it would seem the "request section is maybe broken idk"
i post here in hope someone will be able to make use of it!
*Reason why*

Last night i was using a mod "RSO" and it had turned off all spawns in the end i figured out how to edit the world and add a few manualy. Took 7 hours of triel and error (more errors) however
i have since figured out the above command would have respawned all remove bitters and if needed regenerated the ores.
i had the same problem on a server map when i removed a mod that added harder enermys "because it was spawning unkillable mobs" day 1!
we had to start the world over due to all the enermy bases being gone..
this would have solved it..
==
thank you and sorry in advance for spelling, grammer and genraly ramblering. my morphine has just kicked in.. so i can bearly see the screen!
-- Peace!--
Dennis / Darkheart

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10393
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by ssilk » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:00 pm

Please if you are still not assigned, please create a bug report! They will normally fix such stuff meanwhile very fast during the weekdays.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

ATMunn
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:22 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by ATMunn » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:48 am

Sorry to necro this post or whatever, but I requested an account several days ago and still haven't gotten an email about it. I checked in my spam folder and everything.

User avatar
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Bilka » Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:48 am

Did you get a email address confirmation email? If yes, Gangsir or Klonan will create your account. This may take a while as they go through the requested accounts about once a week. I asked Gangsir if he can go through them today, so you won't have to wait much longer. If you didn't get a email adress confirmation email you either mistyped your email adress or there was another error. If that is the case, we wiki admins aren't able to help you, sorry.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3278
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Klonan » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:04 pm

ATMunn wrote:Sorry to necro this post or whatever, but I requested an account several days ago and still haven't gotten an email about it. I checked in my spam folder and everything.
Ah sorry, the email notifications for new user requests seems to be broken

ATMunn
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:22 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by ATMunn » Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:13 pm

Klonan wrote:
ATMunn wrote:Sorry to necro this post or whatever, but I requested an account several days ago and still haven't gotten an email about it. I checked in my spam folder and everything.
Ah sorry, the email notifications for new user requests seems to be broken
That's alright, I got the email now. Thanks!

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10393
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by ssilk » Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:32 pm

Removed Sticky, the new introduction is here: viewtopic.php?f=50&t=45392
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
olafthecat
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by olafthecat » Wed Oct 04, 2017 11:57 am

The one account idea is firm, but it would require a lot of cooperation between the three websites.
Gonna start playing again with 0.16 build.
That's all.

User avatar
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am

Re: If you want to work on the wiki you need an account

Post by Bilka » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:01 pm

Please no. This forum has like 5000 spammers banned because everybody can make an account. We really don't want those spam bots to have accounts on the wiki.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

Post Reply

Return to “Wiki Talk”