Entity Size In Infobox

Anything related to the content on our wiki (https://wiki.factorio.com/)

Moderator: Bilka

Post Reply
User avatar
Deadly-Bagel
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1493
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:12 am

Entity Size In Infobox

Post by Deadly-Bagel » Wed Nov 23, 2016 4:18 pm

Something I kept running into as a new player was that nowhere does it give the dimensions of entities, in game or on the wiki. Especially for planning outside of game but also for modders reference, answering questions on the forums and anyone wanting to come up with something like a standalone designer, this seems like an important detail to publish

However for a fundamental change to a common template I should check first =P

Like this:
InfoBox.PNG
InfoBox.PNG (40.7 KiB) Viewed 1297 times
Money might be the root of all evil, but ignorance is the heart.

User avatar
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1056
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am

Re: Entity Size In Infobox

Post by Bilka » Wed Nov 23, 2016 4:39 pm

I would go for a different name than Dimensions since that is also used for power armor modules and might cause conflicts with translations.
Other than that it's a pretty good idea!
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

User avatar
Deadly-Bagel
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1493
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:12 am

Re: Entity Size In Infobox

Post by Deadly-Bagel » Wed Nov 23, 2016 4:44 pm

I thought about that but then it's basically the same thing, the width and height of the entity. The only difference is one is placed in armour and the other is placed in the world. Also because armour modules cannot be placed in the world, and entities cannot be placed in modular armour, there is no conflict. Don't see why translations would be relevant, again it's on totally separate items so should never see each other.

The only reason I think it would be beneficial to have a different name is so it's not even remotely implying that modules can be placed in the world but you would only be using a synonym like "Size".

I'll leave it for an admin or dev to make the decision if approved.
Money might be the root of all evil, but ignorance is the heart.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10393
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Entity Size In Infobox

Post by ssilk » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:30 pm

Hm. The right term is Measurement.

See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dimension ... biguation)
which leads to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Measurement

Measurment includes units. In that case either tiles or slots.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
Deadly-Bagel
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1493
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:12 am

Re: Entity Size In Infobox

Post by Deadly-Bagel » Mon Nov 28, 2016 10:53 am

No, I don't agree with that. Measurement is more a theoretical property, such as the distance between two objects or a specified distance along something (eg for cutting to size or drilling a hole). You can also measure time, volume, intensity, speed, etc so is also something of a vague term on its own. If I said "measure that clock" what would it mean?

Dimensions and Size refer to the physical dimensional properties of an object. Nice and specific.
Money might be the root of all evil, but ignorance is the heart.

Post Reply

Return to “Wiki Talk”