Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Post Reply
TheEnemy42
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:12 pm
Contact:

Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by TheEnemy42 »

I've tried searching but so far no cigar. As part of my translation process I've been playing through the newly updated campaign to see how the translated texts read in-game. I noticed however a lot of lacking infomation (like trains was never explained at all) and I realised that the mini-tutorials were probably supposed to popup to fix the missing pieces. How can I reactivate them so that they will pop up again?

I'd like to play through the campaign again but with all information available to the new player so I'm sure it's coherent.
Currently primary Danish translator of Factorio. Feel free to contact me in regards to the translations.

User avatar
valneq
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by valneq »

There is a button in the top right corner above the minimap with an academic hat icon on it. Clicking it should show the list of available mini tutorials.
[edit] Having said that, I don't konw how and when the game decides to show a "New Mini Tutorial Available" popup. I do remember that I had that when I first played through this game. But no idea how to reset it, to check for the correct timing, and whether it happens correctly during the tutorial.

TheEnemy42
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by TheEnemy42 »

Oh, thanks, I forgot to add that I do know about the tutorial button but I havn't been able to find anything in that menu or any of the game menus to reset those popups. I remember when they were first added that they showed up automatically and I can only hope that they still do, otherwise a new player would be very confused about some things. I don't even think the campaign mentions the tutorial menu button.
Currently primary Danish translator of Factorio. Feel free to contact me in regards to the translations.

TheEnemy42
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by TheEnemy42 »

I've tried digging in the config files and I believe I've found what I was looking for in player-data.json. There is a tutorial list with a value for each of the mini-tutorials. Currently most of them have the value "suggested", except one I've just played that has the value "completed". So I guess I need to find the value for the initial state somehow. I've tried looking at the wiki but havn't found anything yet.
Currently primary Danish translator of Factorio. Feel free to contact me in regards to the translations.

TheEnemy42
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by TheEnemy42 »

I'm taking the liberty to bump this post as it's needed to aid my translation work. What value should these tutorial settings be set to in the config file to reset them? Or should it just be removed?
Currently primary Danish translator of Factorio. Feel free to contact me in regards to the translations.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3795
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by orzelek »

Search for player-data.json and in it there is a section for tutorials.
I think it should be safe to just delete that section (don't delete whole file there are more useful things in it).

For me this file is in mainFactorio direcotry - I'm using standalone version.

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1592
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by Zavian »

If you use the portable .zip version, you can reset everything (including the tutorials) by just extracting a the zip file to a clean directory.

TheEnemy42
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by TheEnemy42 »

I just use the Steam version. For the record I tried editing player-data.json and removed the relevant tutorial section but it didn't work. When I looked at the file after I had run Factorio it had re-added the same values again so I guess it's controlled from somewhere else. I ended up just playing through the mini tutorials separately and hope that the devs have testet it themselves :)
Currently primary Danish translator of Factorio. Feel free to contact me in regards to the translations.

SWSe
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 3:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by SWSe »

For those using Steam on Windows, the player-data.json file exists twice.
In case someone finds this useful (for this, or unlocking all tutoral levels etc.):

It works for me by setting the relevant values in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\userdata\[user number]\427520\remote\player-data.json
Such as "status": "not-suggested-yet" for mini-tutorials.

This location is mentioned on the wiki, and it seems this copy always replaces the one in AppData.

TheEnemy42
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by TheEnemy42 »

Ah, that was the reason. Nice to know, thanks.

Was the value "not-suggested-yet" a lucky guess or did you find it somewhere?
Currently primary Danish translator of Factorio. Feel free to contact me in regards to the translations.

SWSe
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 3:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Resetting mini-tutorial popups?

Post by SWSe »

I found it on a second device, where the tutorial progress had not yet been synchronised.
And also, as Zavian mentioned, the zip download from the website should contain all default values. So that's an option to look them up too. :)

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JimBarracus