Why I hate factorio

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Jonathan88
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Why I hate factorio

Post by Jonathan88 »

I bought factorio quite a while ago now - back in September and, although it is very good game in essence, it has one major flaw which ruins everything... It's addictive. This has spoilt not only my experience of the game, it has spoilt my entire life. Since September, I have spent nearly 100 hours on it - it may not sound like much but I played it for about 5 hours when I bought it and then I started playing it again in late November and since then I have not been able to unpeel myself from it. This spoils what seems to be high quality gameplay.

I have come up with a solution for this which includes the following improvements to make the game less addictive and therefore preserve the original gameplay:
1) Seriously cut down the tech tree. This means that there is less of an incentive to continue playing and make progress.
2) Have one ultimate weapon that can insta-kill anything from the very beginning. This removes the whole 'upgrade your weapons:enemy are tougher:upgrade your weapons:enemy are tougher' battle and therefore means you can spend less time playing overall.
3) Remove robotics. This cuts out a section of the game that was far too engaging and made you want to play it way too much.
4) Remove biters. This is the main reason that you want to play the game more in the early stages.
5) Remove spiters. These creatures just encourage you to play and upgrade your defences way too much.
6) Just remove any form of alien. Although making ideas '2', '4' and '5' irrelevent, this will drastically reduce the challenge and reduce the need to carry on playing.
7) Remove belts and trains. Would you play for hours on end if you had to manually move all items everywhere by yourself? Exactly.