Mod Configurations

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Post Reply
GlorifiedToaster
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:49 pm
Contact:

Mod Configurations

Post by GlorifiedToaster »

I've got numerous saves that use different mods.

Whenever I start them, I generally forget to enable a few mods and will have to exit the save. Then, I find those mods, enable them, and confirm that these are mods I want to use. This is a process that generally takes around 20 minutes for me to load up separate saves, and almost every time requires numerous confirmations.

So here's my proposal.

In the downloaded section of the mods tab, you can create folders. You can place mods inside these folders, and rename the folder to whatever you want it to be. If you have a save that has for example, Krastorio, you could put all the mods your using for the save into a folder. Now, when you want to load that save, you could check that folder and it would check all the mods inside of it, making it so you don't have to remember every mod that is attached to that save.

This would streamline the process of loading a bunch of mods for multiple saves.
Patrolling the Mojave almost makes you wish for a nuclear winter.

jodokus31
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 586
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Mod Configurations

Post by jodokus31 »

There is a command line option for factorio, which lets you choose a modfolder:
https://wiki.factorio.com/Command_line_parameters
--mod-directory PATH Mod directory to use
So you could create different shortcuts for factorio with different modfolders

I didn't use it yet, but i have several standalone installations of factorio for different modpacks. I don't use steam then.

But I agree, it would be nicer, if it was possible from inside the game
Last edited by jodokus31 on Sat Aug 24, 2019 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

GlorifiedToaster
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Mod Configurations

Post by GlorifiedToaster »

jodokus31 wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 7:54 pm
There is a command line option for factorio, which lets you choose a modfolder:
https://wiki.factorio.com/Command_line_parameters
--mod-directory PATH Mod directory to use
So you could create different shortcuts for factorio with different modfolders

I didn't use it yet, but i have several standalone installations of factorio for different modpacks. I don't use steam then.

But I agree, it would be nicer, if it was possible from inside the game
Thank you for the information, I'll look into using that.
Patrolling the Mojave almost makes you wish for a nuclear winter.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Mod Configurations

Post by Choumiko »

What's wrong with that: (might not be in the 0.16 version)

Screenshot from 2019-08-24 22-21-19.png
Screenshot from 2019-08-24 22-21-19.png (196.23 KiB) Viewed 556 times

leading to:

Screenshot from 2019-08-24 22-22-28.png
Screenshot from 2019-08-24 22-22-28.png (135.49 KiB) Viewed 556 times


It's a godsend when getting a bug report with a save with tons of mods, 2 clicks and i can test the save.

jodokus31
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 586
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Mod Configurations

Post by jodokus31 »

Choumiko wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:23 pm
What's wrong with that: (might not be in the 0.16 version)
Sure, that's also a proper in-game option to change mods. Never used it. I'm very used to the standalone installations since 0.15, because I can save and backup everything and can use different factorio versions. Nice for updating vanilla to latest experimental and don't touch my fragile seablock.

Caribooboo
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2020 11:17 am
Contact:

Re: Mod Configurations

Post by Caribooboo »

jodokus31 wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 7:54 pm
There is a command line option for factorio, which lets you choose a modfolder:
https://wiki.factorio.com/Command_line_parameters/mywegmansconnect
--mod-directory PATH Mod directory to use
So you could create different shortcuts for factorio with different modfolders

I didn't use it yet, but i have several standalone installations of factorio for different modpacks. I don't use steam then.

But I agree, it would be nicer, if it was possible from inside the game
Love it thank for the valuable information...

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users