[0.17.66] Is death world marathon hard enough? (green-build)

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
freeafrica
Inserter
Inserter

[0.17.66] Is death world marathon hard enough? (green-build)

Post by freeafrica »

Hey,

so I'm fairly new to the game (and I love it, thanks for creating it). I've done the campaign and instantly started freeplays on "death world marathon" difficulty, 'cause I love challanges. I had two freeplays which I've restarted 'cause I've understood global evolution (and I've realized I've messed up that stat in those games).

However on my third try, I've focused on a green-build and the game was super-easy w/ the above tactics:
* slow production (next to a forest) on start to avoid neighbour attacks
* rush energy modules to reduce pollution (80% energy reduction for ALL miners and ALL assemblers, this might be the biggest pollution reducer)
* solarized power, so boilers can be removed (except one for "Advanced oil processing")
* electric smelting so energy modules can be inserted (and reduce that pollution as well)
* production modules only for research (later speed beacons for research only as well, since it creates no pollution)
* rush Assemblers 3 to minimize pollution more
* laser defense to spare resources
* nuclear tech for clean steam production (last boiler removed)

Other than always watching my pollution output and try to minimize it, I've also focused on distributing pollution to make use of the tile-reduction. Because of these, there was also not much aggression from the biters.

Was I lucky somehow? 'Cause I have a feeling either the energy modules are reducing too much of pollution or the "death world marathon" scenario parameters should be tuned. What do u think?

DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: [0.17.66] Is death world marathon hard enough? (green-build)

Post by DaveMcW »

Yes, green build is the solution to death world marathon.

Ideas to increase the challenge: