0.15.11 heat pipes

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
vanatteveldt
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

0.15.11 heat pipes

Post by vanatteveldt »

OK, so they nerfed heat pipes... My power plant suddenly just about halved capacity. How to we design a new plant? It seems that we need to minimize distance between power plant and heat exchangers. There's probably smart people who can figure out the math, but I'm just a poor social scientist so I do things experimentally.

I like building my heat exchangers in blocks of 16 since your first two reactors feed 16 exchangers, and after that every pair of reactors feeds another 32 exchangers (source: https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comme ... ar_ratios/)

My naive design was to have a column of heat exchangers followed by two columns of turbines and a column of storage tanks. This worked wonders, but now have such large blocks near the reactor will make it difficult to stay within the limit of the heat pipe.

From what I can see, 16 exchangers under full load can be serviced up till 65 heat pipes distance. Since the column itself takes 16*3=48 pipes, this gives you only 17 pipes to connect to the reactor. If you have a 4x2 design which needs 7x16 exchangers there is no way it will fit all within 17 tiles of the reactor (right?)

The solution is probably to separate heat exchangers from turbines. Apparently an exchanger produces about 103 steam/s (https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comme ... s/dgv04zb/). If .14 lore is still correct, a pipe can transport 900/s over longish distances and 1200/s over shortish distances (<14 tiles, where UG pipes count as 2 tiles?). So, the steam from 16 exchangers can be safely transported over long distances by 2 pipes.

This is confirmed by the fact that this setup produces maximum expected power of 160MW: