Planning on getting a better game engine?

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Blackjack1000K
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Planning on getting a better game engine?

Post by Blackjack1000K »

Do you guys plan to change your game engine? like MSTE
i know its in alpha.
but games like this should be able to run in netbooks.
i can run games with better graphics like gta sa,rimworld,prison architect etc.
mostly indie games.
(im no expert) but i plan to practice and develop a tile based game like this one once i reach collage.
an explenation will also help on why the engine is so buggy

i know rewriting codes is hard and you have to replace thousands of lines. but i really think its worth the try.

@game devs: good work on the game. hope you keep it up :D . but please think about the steps your taking.

EDIT: sorry for my bad english. english isn't my first language.
Last edited by Blackjack1000K on Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

DRBLN
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Re: Planning on getting a better game engine?

Post by DRBLN »

Just buy a laptop instead

Blackjack1000K
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by Blackjack1000K »

DRBLN wrote:Just buy a laptop instead
yes i already own a laptop with quite a good system actually. i used netbook for just comparison.

AlexPhoenix
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Post by AlexPhoenix »

game use rather much computations for all objects in game.(so CPU power is needed, but Intel Atom not so good for this).
changing engine will not do anything usefull, the devs ill optimize the engine itself.(for multi cores using for example).

i dont see any points in changing working engine to another.

Swadius
Inserter
Inserter

Post by Swadius »

Optimization is usually one of the last steps in development afaik. No use doing optimization on something that might not last to the final version.

sparr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by sparr »