Is there a way to mine faster?

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Antmf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Is there a way to mine faster?

Post by Antmf »

I just started playing and I am addicted:) I am researching and stuff but wanted to know if there is a way to gather mats faster. The electric miners I have are getting kind of slow because I want to start banging out the research and I can not produce iron fast as I would like. PLease let me know. Thanks...

LoSboccacc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Re: Is there a way to mine faster?

Post by LoSboccacc »

they can accept up to three module, both production and speed module would accomplish that (never tried the production module)

note that the miners mine a bit around them, in a 5x5 area, so if you pack them close you can get more miner per deposit increasing the output

Antmf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by Antmf »

HOw do you put the modules in them? How does that work? I clicked on miners but it doesnt come up with a menu that would allow me to put modules in.
NM I see how to put them in there? What category are they under to be researched?

n9103
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by n9103 »

If you're looking for cheaty methods of mining faster, the miners are tweakable to produce as fast as you like in demo-mining-drill.lua (located at \data\base\prototypes\entity)
Specifically this line: "mining_speed = 3" Higher = Faster. 30 will let one drill keep a standard belt filled.

Just remember to revert this back to the stock 3, or you'll lose fun in setting up massive mining fields to fill your belts. (and/or gain tedium from moving one drill many many times :p)

Oh, and modules are under "Advanced Electronics" for research. And only Electric miners can use them. Not burner drills.
Colonel Failure wrote:You can lose your Ecologist Badge quite quickly once you get to the point of just being able to murder them willy-nilly without a second care in the world.

Antmf