Why use trains?

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Morlow
Inserter
Inserter

Why use trains?

Post by Morlow »

Hey all, I'm still relatively new to the game but I guess I don't see the purpose of trains when you can just build belts to connect resources. Usually when you are connecting a distant resource you have nearly infinite space anyway so you could theoretically build like 10 belts if you needed to get good throughput. Is there something I am missing?

ratchetfreak
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Re: Why use trains?

Post by ratchetfreak »

Morlow wrote:Hey all, I'm still relatively new to the game but I guess I don't see the purpose of trains when you can just build belts to connect resources. Usually when you are connecting a distant resource you have nearly infinite space anyway so you could theoretically build like 10 belts if you needed to get good throughput. Is there something I am missing?
the steel is cheaper over the long distance

though in vanilla maps with default settings you don't really need trains which is why RSO exists

jurrehart
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by jurrehart »

On longer distances it' s cheaper in sense of construction materials needed, as you need 2 belt sections to cover the same distance of 1 straight rail section.

Doing some quick math :
2 straight rail sections cost 1 stone , 1 steel & 1 iron stick to craft that could be also expressed as 1 stone and 5.5 Iron plates.
Whereas to cover the same distance with 4 express belt (blue ones) would cost you 86 iron plates and 8 lubricant
To do the same in red belts would cost you 46 iron plates.

Then of course there's the achieved compression 1 train wagon is about 3.5 rail sections in width (horizontally), lets say 4 for easy calculating., which equals to 8 belts