Illumibitey confirmed -day/night cycle: artificial construct

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
RedDagger
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Illumibitey confirmed -day/night cycle: artificial construct

Post by RedDagger »

Wake up, sheeple, the biters are onto all of us.

I recently started playing Factorio and a few things quickly became apparent. Let's state some facts.

1) Assumption: the world of Factorio is an infinite plane.
Confirmation: it says right at world gen screen that if you do not specify the dimensions, then the generated world is potentially infinite.

2) Assumption: there is a day/night cycle in the world.
Confirmation: play at any map and let time passes a bit, the pattern soon become obvious. If you want more precision, install a ui mod that shows the daytime. If you want precision without any mod, build a solar panel nex to a electric pole not connected to anything, then observe the power levels on it.

3) Assumption: the world generates gravity.
Confirmation: it says in the backstory that the player was on a ship that fell.

Now, how exactly can all of these facts be true at the same time? Let's try a few hipotheses:

A) Simple Star System hipothesis: the world orbits a star, much like the way Earth orbits the Sun.
Counter: the world cannot be tidally locked to the star, otherwise there would be no day cycle, but if there is axial rotation, then the star would soon collide with some point of the surface.

B) Binary Star System hipothesis: the world orbits a binary system, composed of a (small) blackhole and a normal star. When the blackhole passes in front of the star, it appears to be night.