100x Research Increase Review (first 80 hours)

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Labinopper
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

100x Research Increase Review (first 80 hours)

Post by Labinopper »

Hey guys - I read a post somewhere about this dude who was playing on expensive mode, with a 100x research requirement, so I thought why the hell not, that sounds like fun... Whacked on KS2/SE mods and went for it

(Now, I want to say I'm no Factorio expert, I get as far as launching rockets and I'm usually bored by that point, so this was always ggoing to be an insane challenge, and I hoped for something fairly idle too so when I get bored I could leave it running and just come back to it)

I don't remember well, but I made a few changes, I think 6x more resources per spot, 2x the size, but also half the amount of resources spawning. In hindsight, with a 100x requirement for all research I shouldn't have halved the resources spawning.

Spent the first few hours cutting down trees until I got to the greenhouse - that wasn't so much fun., and I'm now trying to figure out what to do about the Biomatter situation as I need 15k Military cards to research bioprocessing, which is 3k biter research/30k biomatter... I currently have arounud 1,000 from the various bases I've destroyed so far in the game, so I might cheat in 29,700 biomatter (making the requirement 300 as per 'standard'), just so I can start to progress with the military branch of the game without having to destroy some 1,000 enemy bases without any military stuff...

I strarted with some QoL perks - I can't remember what anymore, but I started with 50 construction robots (which has been life changing, because 80 hours in and I still can't make them)