thoughts by a newbie

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
ebenezer
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

thoughts by a newbie

Post by ebenezer »

Hi everyone,
I have started with factorio 2 weeks ago and I am enjoying it greatly. I mean,I feel like the game has been designed with me in mind, I can't thank the developers enough. Just take my money.

However there is something that bugs me, and I can't help it: It's the way research is done. I am a scientist with 10+ years of experience, and I find not very plausible that one has to feed abstract things, these science packs, into labs. What is going on in the labs actually? This works very well with the game mechanics, but in a game where you produce items, you include these abstract packs. I mean, this guy belongs to a civilization that travels into space and he needs to discover how to make steel? By himself? I am trying to find an alternative, maybe rebranding the labs into communication centres that need constantly energy and materials (the packs) to keep running. Rather than discovering new technologies, the player receives the relevant information from home. Just an idea, but sounds more coherent. Any thoughts? Sorry if this has been discussed already.

Again, the game is awesome, I'll be happy to play it for the years to come.
Cheers,

Eb

quinor
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Re: thoughts by a newbie

Post by quinor »

I've seen similar discussion in last week somewhere. The thing is, that does not have lore explanation. Kovarex posted inspiration he had, but it has got no logical in-game reasoning behind.

ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by ssilk »

Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by Koub »

D'oh I was beaten by Ssilkbot :lol:
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

ebenezer