Performance optimization - post your saves

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Aoz » Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:48 am

I thought I would post this save that is bringing a 2cpu 2.6GHz Sandy Bridge Google Cloud instance to it's knees. I have a feeling it's just too many belts + entities, but since it's basically no longer playable I figure this is the best thing to do with it:

https://storage.googleapis.com/aarondl-factorio/MP.zip

We opened up the debug menu and saw that a lot of time is being used for Game Entities, but I have a feeling that I can't see how much time is actually being used on the server. Thanks for taking a look if you do.
Aoz
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:41 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby kyranzor » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:44 am

Rseding91 wrote:
Boogieman14 wrote:This save has a very noticable hickup every 1 or 2 seconds. It's very likely completely related to Robot Army, but perhaps it'll show an optimization chance in the mod api :)

save: https://www.dropbox.com/s/e17ev1ijvnt67 ... y.zip?dl=0
mods: https://www.dropbox.com/s/vwkfa4876a73q5x/mods.zip?dl=0


Yeah it's robot army. I don't know how the mod author managed it considering you *don't have a single unit built* that it takes 5 MS/tick idle. I recommend just not using that mod.


There is something strange about that Rseding91, my mod uses 0.035ms with no units, did you ever work out what was going wrong in that perrson's save?
kyranzor
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:52 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Batou » Sat Jul 29, 2017 7:16 am

Found this thread while reading FFF comments, and i thought i should contribute.

I have been discussing this in another thread.

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=51239

Here is my save with mods.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bwcy7 ... HBlM1AzVEE
Batou
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:06 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby mward » Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:45 pm

Just a small factory ... around 1.2 kspm (kilo science per minute, so over one rocket per minute plus all the other science)

I decided to switch to bots for almost everything, including unloading trains, and ended up with around 60,000 bots. The sky over the railyard and smelting area gets a bit crowded. Here is the save:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/sube3jyfynu3buy/S01.zip?dl=0

When the factory is running I get around 20 ups on my PC, which was a beast four years ago (i7 4770K 3.5 GHz CPU, 32GB 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 Memory, NVIDIA GTX770 OC 2GB). I suspect that the bots are the problem.

I think for my next factory I will smelt iron and copper, and make electronic circuits at the outposts.
mward
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 9:38 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Ringkeeper » Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:05 pm

i got suggested to post my save here, even its not really big but it takes the client (i host , my wife connects) to 5 FPS

Both PC have same specs: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 3,4GHz , Geforce GTX 1070, 32 GB RAM, Game on SSD , played via LAN.

Thread: https://forums.factorio.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=52015&p=304800#p304800 has logs, but dont show much

Save with mods: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B3lWq ... Xg3TXY2VU0
Ringkeeper
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:16 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby gregor » Sun Aug 27, 2017 4:12 pm

Hey. Saw you tested loadingtimes for big saves. Figured I could help with a bigger one. Mine is close to 100MB. I figure its the 1M+ cementplates that makes it big? Maybe something that can be optimized.

Also has caround 11k Beacons, one single robotnetwork spanning the entire map with around 10-15k roboports and 50k robots.

I get around 10UPS on this map. Would guess the biggest things that slow down are the belts bur also just the number of things in motion :)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2mZJW ... hod0E/view

edit: Forgot to make link public but should work for you now. Would be interesting to see what kind of UPS you can get with new patch :) (We are really looking forward to it)
gregor
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 9:20 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby JD-Plays » Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:26 am

More train lag?

Save file with mod list and also a save without mods is here 2

https://youtu.be/xmVzCfWSV7M

Video showing 'train lag' when signalling is here
https://youtu.be/dAKzJAkTuhQ?t=6m57s

400 Active trains on the network running on 350+K rail segments

I hope this helps, i have also noticed that the Trains are using a lot more 'ticks' then i would expect I know i have a lot of trains, but I would expect the path finding to be higher and the 'trains' to be lower
JD-Plays
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:13 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Rseding91 » Sat Sep 09, 2017 4:16 pm

JD-Plays wrote:More train lag?

Save file with mod list and also a save without mods is here 2

https://youtu.be/xmVzCfWSV7M

Video showing 'train lag' when signalling is here
https://youtu.be/dAKzJAkTuhQ?t=6m57s

400 Active trains on the network running on 350+K rail segments

I hope this helps, i have also noticed that the Trains are using a lot more 'ticks' then i would expect I know i have a lot of trains, but I would expect the path finding to be higher and the 'trains' to be lower


The answer to your video title is yes: don't build signals like that or you get what you're getting :P

Train path finding was optimized quite a lot but what you're doing is un-natrual and never something you'd actually want to do as it murders performance for very little gains.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6168
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby DainPiediferro » Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:41 am

https://www.dropbox.com/s/mip95on2me8ce ... o.zip?dl=0

8.3GW for this production. increasing FPS changing setup of the factory
Attachments
2017-09-12_103956.png
2017-09-12_103956.png (1.9 MiB) Viewed 784 times
DainPiediferro
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby gregor » Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:47 pm

gregor wrote:Hey. Saw you tested loadingtimes for big saves. Figured I could help with a bigger one. Mine is close to 100MB. I figure its the 1M+ cementplates that makes it big? Maybe something that can be optimized.

Also has caround 11k Beacons, one single robotnetwork spanning the entire map with around 10-15k roboports and 50k robots.

I get around 10UPS on this map. Would guess the biggest things that slow down are the belts bur also just the number of things in motion :)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2mZJW ... hod0E/view

edit: Forgot to make link public but should work for you now. Would be interesting to see what kind of UPS you can get with new patch :) (We are really looking forward to it)


Have kept playing some more on same map. Now getting closer to 8-9UPS. will not give up until I find the killscreen!
However, have done some test to see what it would take to get 60UPS. How much of the base that has to be removed. 3 diffrent saves of same map.

Googlemaps preview: https://factorio.twilightguild.se/

First original save. 8-9UPS. (Also locked by gamespeed so change that if you can get more.)
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2mZJW ... sp=sharing


Second one. Same map with pretty much all factories, oilproduction, beacons, smelters removed. So basically everything but trains are standing still. Almost no movement on belt or inserters.
What I found interesting is that UPS only went up to 28-29. Would have thought it would be more since everything is idle.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2mZJW ... sp=sharing


Next I removed most inserters. Removed like 40k or something. Most just idle. Upped the UPS to 45-50. A little supriced idle inserters slowed down that much. What is left on map is idle belts, trains and 15k roboports.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2mZJW ... sp=sharing

Maybe that is something that can be improved upon ?




I got an i7-3770K btw
gregor
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 9:20 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Jap2.0 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:47 pm

Yeah idk how much space concrete takes up, but in theory it should be pretty easy to put something in the save saying area from (X1, Y1) to (X2, Y2) is filled with concrete. They could be doing this already, but if they are saving it as individual entities this should at least help with saving and loading.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.
Jap2.0
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Rseding91 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:20 am

Jap2.0 wrote:Yeah idk how much space concrete takes up, but in theory it should be pretty easy to put something in the save saying area from (X1, Y1) to (X2, Y2) is filled with concrete. They could be doing this already, but if they are saving it as individual entities this should at least help with saving and loading.


No more than anything else. Concrete replaces what ever you build it over in the chunk so if you build it over grass it replaces the grass.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6168
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Jap2.0 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:42 pm

Rseding91 wrote:
Jap2.0 wrote:Yeah idk how much space concrete takes up, but in theory it should be pretty easy to put something in the save saying area from (X1, Y1) to (X2, Y2) is filled with concrete. They could be doing this already, but if they are saving it as individual entities this should at least help with saving and loading.


No more than anything else. Concrete replaces what ever you build it over in the chunk so if you build it over grass it replaces the grass.


How is grass saved? Does a chunk of entirely grass (ignoring decoratives) use the same amount of space in the save as a chunk containing the border between a desert, grass area, and ocean? If so, then I think that there should be a more efficient way. I could be wrong, though.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.
Jap2.0
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Rseding91 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:22 pm

Jap2.0 wrote:
Rseding91 wrote:
Jap2.0 wrote:Yeah idk how much space concrete takes up, but in theory it should be pretty easy to put something in the save saying area from (X1, Y1) to (X2, Y2) is filled with concrete. They could be doing this already, but if they are saving it as individual entities this should at least help with saving and loading.


No more than anything else. Concrete replaces what ever you build it over in the chunk so if you build it over grass it replaces the grass.


How is grass saved? Does a chunk of entirely grass (ignoring decoratives) use the same amount of space in the save as a chunk containing the border between a desert, grass area, and ocean? If so, then I think that there should be a more efficient way. I could be wrong, though.


Chunk tiles are saved per setup tile in the chunk. You can turn on the show-tile-variations debug option to see the different tiles in a given chunk. Each one will write out a few bytes detailing what it is.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6168
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Jap2.0 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:58 pm

Oh, forgot about tile variations. Nevermind then :).
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.
Jap2.0
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Koub » Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:53 am

[Koub] Stickied the topic because it always gets buried :)
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Location: France

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby totallymeyou » Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:26 pm

You should enjoy this savegame. It is built for 5k science packs per min of all 0.15 types, relying completely on trains and bots to produce that. Note that the logistic networks are all (but the mining outposts) optimised to be as small and as bot-travel efficient as possible. Add to that completely separated train networks for the different raw resources and for exporting the science packs or rocket parts.

I'm guessing there's around 60k active logistic chests, 21k beacons and more than 50k inserters. Not to mention the around 800 3-10-3 trains which are highly active.

If you're wondering about the amount of time spent in the playthrough, I have rebuilt the complete base about 4x and also spending some time afk-ing, which puts me at around 250 hours...

On my specs (i5 4590, GTX 760, 16GB Ram) at full blast it runs at around 23 FPS / UPS.

Looking forward to finding out if this can help you in optimising this glorious game a little more :D


Save file: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/zioj8rbo4a1l9ff/AAA7za3twOHkck4XLfigi4ZWa?dl=0

Mods used: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4ql2qkrsisz7myn/AAC1hyS0B4kYHzanzZgXG_Y6a?dl=0
totallymeyou
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:10 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Rseding91 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:58 am

totallymeyou wrote:You should enjoy this savegame. It is built for 5k science packs per min of all 0.15 types, relying completely on trains and bots to produce that. Note that the logistic networks are all (but the mining outposts) optimised to be as small and as bot-travel efficient as possible. Add to that completely separated train networks for the different raw resources and for exporting the science packs or rocket parts.

I'm guessing there's around 60k active logistic chests, 21k beacons and more than 50k inserters. Not to mention the around 800 3-10-3 trains which are highly active.

If you're wondering about the amount of time spent in the playthrough, I have rebuilt the complete base about 4x and also spending some time afk-ing, which puts me at around 250 hours...

On my specs (i5 4590, GTX 760, 16GB Ram) at full blast it runs at around 23 FPS / UPS.

Looking forward to finding out if this can help you in optimising this glorious game a little more :D


Save file: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/zioj8rbo4a1l9ff/AAA7za3twOHkck4XLfigi4ZWa?dl=0

Mods used: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4ql2qkrsisz7myn/AAC1hyS0B4kYHzanzZgXG_Y6a?dl=0


Can your save run without the mods? They make it difficult to look at performance with the API changes between 0.15 and 0.16.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6168
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby totallymeyou » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:34 pm

Rseding91 wrote:
Can your save run without the mods? They make it difficult to look at performance with the API changes between 0.15 and 0.16.


Yes as the mods are nearly all just quality of life mods, BUT you have to keep Advanced Solar active, otherwise the saves power supply will be wrecked. So unless you use an infinite power command, the base won't run, obviously.

I had the power supply run on vanilla solar before, but hoped to gain fps by using a mod to concentrate the power in a much smaller area.
totallymeyou
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:10 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Postby Rseding91 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:54 pm

totallymeyou wrote:
Rseding91 wrote:
Can your save run without the mods? They make it difficult to look at performance with the API changes between 0.15 and 0.16.


Yes as the mods are nearly all just quality of life mods, BUT you have to keep Advanced Solar active, otherwise the saves power supply will be wrecked. So unless you use an infinite power command, the base won't run, obviously.

I had the power supply run on vanilla solar before, but hoped to gain fps by using a mod to concentrate the power in a much smaller area.


Ah, yeah solar panels are O(1) cost so the count has no impact on game performance :)

I did find one small thing so far with requester chests to improve performance. I'm looking at other things still.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6168
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

PreviousNext

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Adeon Hawkwood and 14 guests