GLIBC 2.23 runs the game but won't install mods?

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
TheSilas
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

GLIBC 2.23 runs the game but won't install mods?

Post by TheSilas »

Hello,

I've recently setup a headless server on an old Dell I had lying around and installed Ubuntu 16.04. This came with GLIBC 2.23-0 installed and headless factorio runs perfectly fine on it.

I am trying to use the Factorio mods manager here (https://github.com/Tantrisse/Factorio-mods-manager), but it needs to point to a GLIBC directory to work. I found the glibc location in /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu, but that doesn't seem to work. Any ideas?

I also tried to install GLIBC 2.18, but I'm running into issues. It may be that the instructions are written for CentOS and I'm using ubuntu. I'm still new to linux, so I'm not familiar with the commands and equivalents.

Any pointers would be helpful. Thanks!

ptx0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: GLIBC 2.23 runs the game but won't install mods?

Post by ptx0 »

oof, that's a 5 year old distro. it's EOL. you should use latest LTS, Ubuntu 20.04.

edit: I just realised you might not know what this means, my bad - it's basically like you installed Windows XP and are having issues installing the latest .NET framework. I don't know if that's a good metaphor for you, but it's pretty close to reality here. EOL means the version doesn't receive updates and is binary incompatible with newly released software.

LTS means it's Long Term Support, you can safely install LTS versions of a distribution and expect compatibility for a reasonable period of time - 2-5 years. (unless it's CentOS, they recently pulled the rug out from everyone and killed it off, so don't use it anymore)

TheSilas
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by TheSilas »