Annoying UI inconsistency

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
Ormy
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:05 am
Contact:

Annoying UI inconsistency

Post by Ormy »

Preface: I wasn't sure whether to put this thread in bug reports or in ideas & suggestions, so I gave up and put it here, can a mod please move it to wherever you think best.

There is a UI inconsistency that has been bothering me for a while, the steps to show it are quite simple.

Place a constant combinator
Open the combinator, click an empty slot under 'output signals' and select an item type as the output signal (any item, e.g. copper ore or red circuits etc).
At the bottom right of the 'select a signal' dialog is a box where you can manually type a number. Type any number here. Notice how the colour of the box changes from grey to a yellow-ish colour to show that you are editing the box's contents.
After typing a number, you can click the green tick to confirm the number and close the dialog. Alternatively, you can hit the return key once to confirm the number you typed and close the 'select a signal' dialog without having to use the mouse to click anything.

Now do similar steps for a requester chest:

Place a requester chest.
Open it and click an empty slot under 'logistic request' and select any item.
At the bottom right of this dialog is a box to manually type a number.
After typing a number, you can click the green tick to confirm the number and close the dialog.
However, unlike the combinator, hitting return only confirms the number (and returns the box where you entered the number from yellow to grey), it does not close the dialog, subsequent presses do nothing. If you hit escape to close the dialog the changes you made to the number of items requested are not kept. It is still required to click the green tick with the cursor, there is no way of confirming the number and closing the dialog without using the mouse.

This inconsistency regarding the function of the return key in these two very similar UI situations is rather annoying. The requester chest should behave as the combinator currently does, requiring only the keyboard return key to confirm the value and close the dialog.

Or even better, both entities could have the following behaviour: After typing a number into the box, the first press of the return key confirms the number and darkens the box to show it's contents are no longer being edited. A second press of the return key closes the dialog.

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 2914
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: Annoying UI inconsistency

Post by Bilka »

I can't reproduce what you say, return closes and confirms both dialogs for me. Are you playing on the latest version of the game? The behaviour you describe may have been fixed with the fix for 95845.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

Ormy
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: Annoying UI inconsistency

Post by Ormy »

Bilka wrote:
Tue Feb 16, 2021 6:57 pm
I can't reproduce what you say, return closes and confirms both dialogs for me. Are you playing on the latest version of the game? The behaviour you describe may have been fixed with the fix for 95845.
You're right, I was running 1.1.14, fixed in latest version.

I did a search for this over a month ago when I noticed the issue but never got round to posting about it, when I remembered today I didn't think to do a forum search again for new posts or update factorio and check again before posting.

My apologies for wasting your time. Please delete this thread.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6868
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Annoying UI inconsistency

Post by Koub »

[Koub] Moved to Technical Help. Other people may face the same situation. This thread will be useful to theml.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”