(solved) Windows changes power plan when starting Factorio

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
Guenni7
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 5:53 am
Contact:

(solved) Windows changes power plan when starting Factorio

Post by Guenni7 »

Since some weeks, when I start Factorio or ALT-TAB to desktop and then back to Factorio, Windows 10 changes the power plan to "High performance".
Unfortunately, with that power plan the game runs slower than with the "Balanced plan".
I deactivated game mode in windows settings, but it still changes the power plan.
Was anyone able to solve that problem?
Last edited by Guenni7 on Wed Nov 18, 2020 3:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AmericanPatriot
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Windows changes power plan when starting Factorio

Post by AmericanPatriot »

It runs slower?

You can change the battery mode by pressing the windows key, clicking the battery icon in the bottom right, then moving the slider.
Sarcasm and insults are generally neither helpful nor appreciated. :D

Guenni7
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 5:53 am
Contact:

Re: Windows changes power plan when starting Factorio

Post by Guenni7 »

AmericanPatriot wrote:
Wed Nov 18, 2020 2:45 am
It runs slower?
Yeah, funny thing... It's a laptop, so my guess is that on high performance plan the system get's hotter and processor is going into throttled mode.

I was able to solve the problem, it was Avast Antivirus that changed the power plan, even if it had not installed the "game mode" plugin, or maybe it was just not visible.

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users