[0.17.66] Modded load time

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
necrogami
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:58 pm
Contact:

[0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by necrogami » Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:41 am

After updating to 0.17.66 i have experienced a massive increase in load times and now loading a default world it stutters and causes large hangs where it didn't do this in 0.17.65.

After some testing between 0.17.66 and 0.17.65 with my same mod folder i've found out that it takes about 4x (2.5 min to 10 min) to load my mods folder.

I understand i have a lot of mods however this was fine before 0.17.66.

Linked is a folder that contains my mods, the factorio logs from 65 and 66. I can provide a save but even just starting a new game you can see some of the hangs that happen.

Thanks,
Necrogami
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/c50a1f6mjc3d ... pu_pa?dl=0

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9777
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by Rseding91 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 5:46 am

Thanks for the report however I can't reproduce what you're seeing. I notice in the log file the CRC is saying bobs logistics is different between your 2 game versions - did you change it?

For me, it loads to the main menu in 110 seconds in 0.17.66.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2152
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by darkfrei » Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:09 am

Rseding91 wrote:
Fri Aug 23, 2019 5:46 am
For me, it loads to the main menu in 110 seconds in 0.17.66.
Is it first or second game start after the computer reboot?

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9777
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by Rseding91 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:29 am

darkfrei wrote:
Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:09 am
Rseding91 wrote:
Fri Aug 23, 2019 5:46 am
For me, it loads to the main menu in 110 seconds in 0.17.66.
Is it first or second game start after the computer reboot?
Neither, my computer has been on for a few days and I tried 0.17.67 and it loaded in 110 seconds and then I tried 0.17.66 through steam and it was the same.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3864
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by posila » Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:57 am

Try to add exception for Factorio in your slower install path to your antivirus and/or Windows Defender.

necrogami
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by necrogami » Fri Aug 23, 2019 1:32 pm

The mods were copied from 0.17.66 to a newly downloaded copy of 0.17.65.

I guess technically the only difference i'm doing between them is my 0.17.66 (my main install) is running with a mods-directory flag pointing to my mods.

I have added an exception for both to the real time scanner and even gone as far as disabling app control and real time scanning. This remains unchanged.
I've added the 66 log after the change to windows defender/security.

Note my friend is playing a variant of this pack. Not the same mods but pretty similar and did also notice a considerable slowdown upon loading with 0.17.66.

necrogami
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by necrogami » Fri Aug 23, 2019 1:43 pm

For sake of comparison. Given how i launch factorio i setup a new link which points to the 0.17.65 folder with the --mod-directory flag pointing to the same mods that are launched when i run my 0.17.66 client. The only difference is the folder that i'm executing factorio from. I've added a launch log from 0.17.65 to the dropbox folder linked above.

0.17.66

Code: Select all

C:\Users\necrogami\Games\Factorio_0.17\bin\x64\factorio.exe --mod-directory "C:\Users\necrogami\Games\Factorio_0.17\Modpacks\Painful"
0.17.65

Code: Select all

C:\Users\necrogami\Desktop\Factorio_0.17.65\bin\x64\factorio.exe --mod-directory "C:\Users\necrogami\Games\Factorio_0.17\Modpacks\Painful"

User avatar
Jon8RFC
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 447
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by Jon8RFC » Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:26 am

I tested a couple of days ago and ran both versions three times to take caching out of the equation, then compared all six logs. Both versions started up in about the same amount of time without the massive increase in 66 that you're experiencing. All good, here.
Image

jodokus31
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by jodokus31 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:56 pm

I see, you have widechests mod https://mods.factorio.com/mod/WideChests
This mod does something generic at startup, i don't know exactly what happens, but with the default settings, it slows down startup very much.
I think its the setting "maximum chest area", which controls it. I turned it down to 40, because I don't need bigger chests and its a lot faster for overall startup.

necrogami
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.66] Modded load time

Post by necrogami » Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:00 pm

Jon8RFC wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:26 am
I tested a couple of days ago and ran both versions three times to take caching out of the equation, then compared all six logs. Both versions started up in about the same amount of time without the massive increase in 66 that you're experiencing. All good, here.
So, doing some further testing i've found a solution but not the cause.

If i downloaded a fresh install of 0.17.66 and use my above command to link to the files it's fine. However if i use my updated copy that has been updated since the beginning of 0.17 it takes 4 times longer.

No idea why but at least i have a solution.

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: everything-narrative